Against the wind….I was running against the wind….

This is going to be my new theme song, lol!!  I went for a lovely jog around mid-morning, and it seems that no matter what direction I start with, I end up running against the wind.  So today’s workout was great :)

  • 2 & 1/4 miles jogging
  • 1/2 mile brisk walk
  • 1 mile with sprints alternating walk/run
  • 1/4 mile walk to cool down

Came home to refuel after the workout with 1/2 apple & coconut water.  No pic :( I switched cameras in the middle of the day.

Lunch was pretty simple this afternoon.  Kohl and I enjoyed some yogurt with grape nuts & pomegranate seeds.  I enjoyed a cinnamon roll cappuccino with mine!

I have been at the neighbors this afternoon to see their new home.  They are finally moving in this week, after spending 2 years building it.  But at least they will not have a mortgage.  That has to be worth the 2 years it has taken to finish it!  Of course it is beautiful and makes me want to build a new one.

The star of tonight’s dinner was none other than…..

The Pumpkin

All of the recent posts with Chili Pumpkin Bowls put me in the mood to stuff one myself.  I didn’t use chili per say but very similar.

  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 can black beans, drained & rinsed
  • Chopped onion, red bell pepper, garlic
  • olive oil
  • bulgar wheat
  • eggplant & mushrooms
  • chili powder
  1. Prepare the pumpkin by removing the top and cleaning out the middle.  Reserve those seeds for roasting!  Sprinkle with some sea salt & pepper, place in oven at 350 for 30 minutes.
  2. Chop up the eggplant & mushrooms.  Drizzle with olive oil, salt, & pepper.  Roast in the oven with the pumpkin.
  3. Saute onion & bell pepper in olive oil.  Add the garlic & saute one more minute.  Add can of tomatoes & beans.  Sprinkle with chili seasoning to desired taste.
  4. Prepare bulgar wheat according to directions.
  5. Mix some of the tomato mixture, bulgar wheat, and roasted veggies in a bowl.  Pour the mixture into the pumpkin.  Increase oven temp to 400 and roast another 30 minutes, or until the pumpkin is fork tender.  Enjoy!

Such a hearty, comforting meal!  I am so stuffed from eating it.  The pumpkin is really good with the filling.  I can’t wait to experiment with different fillings :) 

I did have some pumpkin remaining in the shell after eating.  I have it in the fridge to enjoy throughout the week.  Fresh pumpkin, yum yum!

Probably will not have room for dessert tonight.  I am preparing to make some of my homemade granola, and spend some time with the hubster.  Will have a post with recipe for the granola in the morn.  Night all!

2 Comments

Filed under DINNER

2 responses to “Against the wind….I was running against the wind….

  1. Hi Helen! I saw your comment on Espresso and Cream and came on over here…

    Blogging is definitely a process of continually learning, but a few things I’ve found that might be helpful to you… First, do you use Google Analytics to track your site visits? I recommend signing up, so you’ll be able to answer the question of whether you have daily readers or not. Second, see if WordPress will let you move your “leave a comment” note somewhere else, or make it bold. Right now, it’s a little hard to find amidst your post’s tags, and I bet you have folks who would otherwise love to comment but just can’t find the link! Finally, visit lots of other blogs and leave comments to make contacts. My traffic definitely increases in weeks when I’m actively commenting on other sites. (Just be sure your comments are substantive!)

    Good luck!

    xoxo,
    tanja

Leave a Reply

