Strawberry Love

Even though I can’t make it to the gym today….

Even though it has started to rain a little and we have horrific storms rolling through tonight…..

Even though I have yet to get the mani-pedi and much needed eye brow waxing (hello unibrow)…

Even though Kohl had to go to the doc because an ear was draining and we are now on antibiotics for the next 10 days….

I still have some love! 

blog photos 899

Strawberry love that is.  I picked up these beauties at the produce stand yesterday.  This large bowl doesn’t include the ones that I have already sliced and frozen.  Half a flat for seven bucks…..I’m sold.  I would have purchased a flat at a lovely 12.99$ but unfortunately they didn’t have any more available.  That just gives me reason to buy more!

The love started at breakfast this morning.  I had a light bulb moment while staring into the pantry trying to decide what to use in my oats.  Well while shopping this past weekend at WF, I picked up a single serving packet of Jay Robb protein in strawberry to try out.  I have seen this protein used a lot because it is sweetened with stevia. 

blog photos 897

Strawberry Cream Oats

  • 1/3c oats (soaked overnight in 2/3c water)
  • 1/3c almond milk
  • 1/3c water
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 2T cottage cheese
  • 1T flaxseed
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1T chia seeds
  • dash of almond extract
  • 1T strawberry protein powder
  • 1/4c strawberry slices

Combine the first five ingredients in a pan and bring to a slight boil.  Reduce the heat to low and add in remaining ingredients.  Whisk while cooking to get a creamy mixture.  Top with more strawberries and coconut.

blog photos 898

Now the berry love didn’t end with breakfast.  Oh no, I carried that love with me to work.  I enjoyed a lovely strawberry banana smoothie, and I added some strawberry slices to my salad that I had packed for lunch :)

The boys were suppose to have ball games tonight.  Said games were cancelled due to the storms in the area.  Now any other wife would probably cook a nice dinner considering that she found her self with extra time on her hands.  Did this wife do that?  Not a chance!

Dinner was good but kept the same as planned.  I decided to use that time in order to bake up a little treat, that will come a little later.  For now I give you…

blog photos 900

Strawberries & Cream Buckwheat Bake (adapted from edible perspective)

  • 4T raw buckwheat flour 
  • 1T raw buckwheat groats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 egg 
  • 1/2t cinnamon
  • 2t almond extract 
  • 1/2c strawberries
  • 1/4t baking powder
  • 1T strawberry protein powder  
  • 4T almond milk
  • 1T chia seeds
  1. Preheat oven to 350*
  2. Mash banana with a fork, unlike gooey.
  3. Whisk in milk, almond and egg.
  4. Mix in buckwheat flour + groats, protein powder, cinnamon, strawberries, baking powder, and chia seeds.
  5. Spray small baking dish or ramekins with non stick spray.
  6. Pour in batter and bake for 25-30min.

blog photos 901

At this point you can eat it as is or add toppings.  Of course I have to add toppings to everything.  My choices for tonight included coconut shavings, pecan butter, and maple syrup.  A-MAZ-ING!

Now on to that lovely treat I decided to bake since I have extra time on my hands.  I have been meaning to bake something that I could have for a quick  breakfast as well as a snack.  I love to bake muffins, and if I freeze them they will last me a couple of weeks.  This is great for rushed mornings or a slightly sweet treat :)

blog photos 903

Strawberry Yogurt Muffins

1 1/2 c. unbleached flour
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cream of tartar
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1/2 c. (1 stick) unsalted butter
1/2 c. honey
1/2 tsp. almond extract
2 eggs
1/4 c. plain yogurt
2/3 c. chopped fresh strawberries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease muffin pans. Sift flour. Then sift together flour, salt, cream of tartar and baking soda into a bowl.

Cream butter and honey in a large bowl until fluffy. Add almond. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Alternately add dry ingredients and yogurt to creamed ingredients, gently fold in strawberries. Spoon into muffin pans and bake 25 minutes or until golden brown. Allow muffins to cool on a rack 10 minutes before removing from pan.

blog photos 902

These are the perfect muffin in my opinion.  They are just slightly sweet and very soft & fluffy.  You have to try these!  Of course you can substitute any fruit in place of the berries. 

blog photos 904       

Now doesn’t that look like the yummiest muffin ever!  I tell you I am really enjoying having a little time on the hands.  You know what this means?  Two words for the hubster – bubble bath – sweet quiet with no interruptions.  Getting the hubster to cooperate is easy, as for the kids – that’s another story!

11 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DESSERT, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Strawberry Love

  1. That is a lot of baked strawberry love. It all looks delicious too! Good luck with your bubble bath!

  2. Oh my gosh. All of your eats look so good. Love the strawberry buckwheat bake!!!

  3. Such yummy recipes. I love strawberries too and am waiting for the super sales to start! If you puree/blend frozen banana slices with some frozen strawberries and coconut milk – I swear it taste like fruity frozen yogurt.

    I’m glad I found your blog!

  4. Love all the strawberry recipes, I bought some a few weeks ago, unfortunately they tasted like cardboard, lol!
    I need to track down some tasty ones and make that oatmeal immediately :)

  5. Oh and i’m officially following you now, don’t want to miss out on any fabulous recipes :)

  6. oooh I cannot wait to check out the farmers market in my new homey-home in order to see what goodies they have! Thanks for all the berry recipes!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

