OMG – nuf said

Happy hump day everyone!  I wanted to say that I greatly appreciate all of  you that left comments on yesterday’s post.  It was encouraging to read those comments.  You all have come to mean a great deal to me, and I am honored to have such wonderful friends to turn to.  Thank you for your support and encouragement.  It is great to know that people are okay with you  being human and having slip ups from time to time!

It is a lovely day here in my little part of Louisiana.  We had a cold day yesterday, temps in the 40’s last night (so never happens in May) and a nice, cool, sunny, 70’s day today :)

This type of weather makes me really happy.  So happy that I came up with some wonderful ideas for foods.  Of course this also comes with the whole keeping it healthy and real challenge.  Trying to take my food cravings and turn them into healthy options.    

       blog photos 942

So happy that I made a favorite cold weather dinner last night. 

Chili with venison ground meat and venison sausage.  I made a batch of quinoa to serve with my chili, and topped it with some goat cheese. 

blog photos 943

So happy that I baked a bread to go with that dinner last night.

Southern cornbread cooked in a cast iron skillet with real butter – yes I said real butter – but only 1/2 tablespoon total.  It is used to melt in the bottom of the skillet and the sides of the skillet preheated for a nice crust.

blog photos 946

So happy that I baked some marvelous “cupcakes” last night – and I shared them with the secretaries for appreciation week this morning.

blog photos 944

I followed Angela’s recipe for whole grain carrot cake loaf with lemon glaze with several adjustments.  You can find the original recipe here.  The changes I made are listed below:

  • used whole wheat flour in the place of spelt
  • used 1 egg and 1/8 c of olive oil in place of 3/4 c of oil
  • used 1/2 honey & 1/2 molasses in place of maple syrup
  • used almond milk and orange extract in place of the lemon for the glaze

blog photos 945

Loved this!  Although I am not sure if you would call it a cupcake or a muffin?  I enjoyed one for dessert without any guilt since the ingredients are all natural, healthy ingredients :)

blog photos 949

So happy that I came up with the best (to date) breakfast I have eaten.  Oh, and a few more ideas up my sleeve that I will be testing out in the next week or so :)

Berry-Cherry Cobbler Buckwheat Bake

  • 3T buckwheat groats, ground
  • 1T whole buckwheat groats
  • 2T ground flaxseed
  • dash of salt
  • 1t baking powder
  • 3T cottage cheese
  • 1/2 banana mashed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4c almond milk
  • 1t vanilla
  • few stevia drops
  • 1/2 c frozen blueberries and cherries
  • 1t cornstarch mixed with 1t water
  1. Place the frozen berries/cherries in a microwave safe bowl and defrost about a minute.  Mix in the cornstarch/water mixture and microwave for an additional 20-30 seconds until just thickened.
  2. Preheat oven to 350.
  3. Grind the buckwheat groats and mix with the remaining dry ingredients in a small bowl.
  4. Mash the banana in a medium bowl and add in wet ingredients.
  5. Combine the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients and stir to mix.
  6. Spray your baking dish/ramekin with non stick spray.
  7. Pour the fruit mixture into the bottom of the dish, and add the batter on top
  8. Bake for about 40-45 minutes.

OMG – this was A-MAZ-ING!

blog photos 947

I have to admit that this is the best breakfast that I have come up with at this point.  I absolutely loved it, and will be making more cobbler breakfast variations from here on out.  I didn’t add any sweetener to the fruit mixture since I enjoy plain fruit as is.  If you would like to sweeten it you can easily add a little honey/syrup/stevia to the mixture to suit your taste.  I for one did not need it.  Not to mention I wanted this to be dessert like, not turn it into an actual dessert.

blog photos 947

I was completely satisfied with this breakfast.  It is completely healthy and satisfying.  This breakfast held me over for about 4 hours before needing a snack!

blog photos 948

If you never make anything else I have posted about, you have to make this!

********************************************************

11.5 days to go!

7 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DESSERT, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

7 responses to “OMG – nuf said

  1. Seriously Helen, i’m having a hard time keeping up with all your yummy breakfast recipes!!!!!
    Can’t wait to try this one :)

  2. Looks so good! I keep seeing this delicious looking buckwheat bakes and want to try one so bad now! And how you did with the berries and cherries….mmmm….

  3. That breakfast looks so so good. I’m in somewhat of a breakfast “rut,” in other words I’ve eaten overnight oats every day for like the past… who knows how long. But it’s so good, I don’t really mind. I’ve only tried the buckwheat bake once and it was delish but I always feel bad griding up buckwheat when I’m usually the first one up in the morning.

    • I understand about the first one up…..that is why I grind my buckwheat the night before and mix all dry ingredient together. In th morning I add the wet and bake :)

  4. my breakfasts seem so lame compared to yours!! so glad you shared these goodies :)

Leave a Reply

