I’m stuffed – stuffed peppers

I was so super excited about today’s post.  Like dancing in my seat, going to wet my pants excited.  Yeah the hubster thinks that I am crazy as well.  He just doesn’t understand how anyone can be so excited over food…..and meatless food at that. 

I am sure you guys can understand my excitement.  For those of us that love food (cooking, eating) we get super excited over the smallest things.  Like adding a touch of coconut oil to a smoothie, “whipping” egg whites into oatmeal, or even as simple as trying out a new twist on an old favorite!

Which is exactly what I did.  Although I can’t take full credit for the recipe.   You see I was in the mood for some type of Mexican dish.  I didn’t want the basic tacos.  I didn’t feel like enchiladas.  No I wanted Mexican but something new. 

I also needed a meatless meal.  Because we have no beef in our house much to the hubster’s dismay.  Oh well, he will deal….

So I was thinking.  And thinking.  And thinking – I know, that can be dangerous right?  The thinking paid off, I came up with a great idea!

072011 283

We love stuffed peppers at home.  It is an old favorite of ours to have for dinner.  You know the ones I am talking about – beef, tomato sauce, rice, seasoning.  The only problem with the original pepper is that it isn’t Mexican?????

072011 284

So I did a Mexican version.  Complete with green chilies, taco seasoning, oh and guess what else?  Barley!  I have had a box of the stuff in my pantry for about a month now.  With no idea of what I wanted to do with it.  Until I opened my Cooking Light magazine a few weeks ago.  While I was dancing in my kitchen with the thought of Mexican stuffed peppers, I remembered the recipe that called for barley.  It was a stuffed poblano pepper recipe – which I didn’t have – or didn’t want.  So I made the recipe with a few little tweaks as stuffed bell peppers.  YUM!!

You can probably visit the Cooking Light website to get the original recipe.  Many of them are posted on the site.  For my version, just see below :)

   072011 285  

I’m Stuffed – Stuffed Peppers

  • 3-4 bell peppers (depending on size)
  • 1c diced onion
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 – 4oz. can green chilies (do not drain)
  • 1 can pinto beans (drained & rinsed)
  • 2T taco seasoning (recipe below)
  • 2t cumin
  • 3/4c vegetable broth – 1/2c for barley, 1/4c for bean mixture
  • 1/2c barley
  • shredded Monterey jack cheese
  1. Place a large pot of water on the stove and bring to a boil.  Slice peppers in half, remove seeds/ribs.  Place peppers in boiling water for approximately 5 minutes to soften.  Remove from water and drain.
  2. Preheat oven to 400*.
  3. In a small saucepan bring 1/2c vegetable broth to a boil.  Stir in the barley, cover with lid, remove from heat, and let it sit for about 30 minutes.
  4. In a separate pan, heat olive oil, saute onion/garlic for about 5 minutes.
  5. Add the chilies, beans, seasonings, and 1/4c broth to the onions.  Simmer for 10 minutes.
  6. Add the barley to the bean mixture.  Sprinkle in a little cheese.
  7. Stuff the peppers with the mixture.  Top with more cheese, then bake in the oven for about 15-20 minutes.
  8. Serve with sour cream, olives, salsa, etc.

The barley in this recipe helped to fill me up much quicker than the rice normally does.  I can usually eat both halves of a medium bell pepper when I make them.  However, tonight one half was plenty for me.  I served these along with kale chips seasoned with taco seasoning and  a nice green salad. 

072011 286

Taco Seasoning

  • 1T chili powder
  • 1/4t garlic powder
  • 1/4t onion powder
  • 1/4t crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/4t dried oregano
  • 1/2t paprika
  • 1 + 1/2t ground cumin
  • 1t corn starch
  • 1t sea salt
  • 1t black pepper

mix all seasonings together in a small airtight container.

************************

In other news this morning, I received a package several – several days ago from a friend!  This was just a little small package for me to enjoy all on my own.  I like those kind!

072011 246

I love being a friend of Larabar!  I mean who doesn’t love a friend that sends you a package of a new bar to try?  I think I squealed as loud as my children on Christmas morning when I saw the return address on this box!  They sent me several of the new chocolate chip cherry torte bars to try out for myself.  Love them!

 072011 290

I mean really, anything with chocolate chip in the name is a keeper for me :)

These bars have easily become one of my favorite varieties from the company.  These bars contain real cherries and chocolate chips.  Yep the real stuff!  You can taste both the cherry and the chocolate in the bar, which to me is a key factor in bars.  I mean if you tell me the name of the bar is something, then it better taste like that! 

072011 291

I really enjoy how this bar is almost dessert like.  Really it is.  It is nice and sweet (but not overly sweet), which makes me think that I am eating dessert.  A dessert that is healthy for you, yes please :)

Larabar – you had me at first bite! 

8 Comments

Filed under baking, CHOCOLATE, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

8 responses to “I’m stuffed – stuffed peppers

  1. Missy

    those peppers look so good! I love the Mexican twist. I bet it would be good with quinoa, since I have that and not barley.
    And yum on that Larabar – i love cherry anything! But it will be a while before I see them in stores here -we are a couple of lightyears behind on all the new good stuff! But maybe I can go out of town soon and find them.

  2. Okay, I guess I need to try that new L-bar flavor. I love Cooking Light AND stuffed peppers! Looks delicious.

  3. I love the little pin with cherries on it. That is so cute. I really want to try the new larabar. I love cherries and chocolate. Your stuffed peppers look really good. I’ve been meaning to make some. I just have been so forgetful!

  4. I love stuffed peppers!!! Red are my favorite but they’re usually so expensive! I like to stuff mine with rice, black beans and cheese. yUM!

Leave a Reply

