shrimp and tomato pasta

You know how sometimes you get a certain food item in your head, you start craving it, and you just can’t think of anything else?  Yeah, that happened to me yesterday!

For whatever reason I thought of Olive Garden’s shrimp caprese.  I love the shrimp caprese.  I do not like what it does to my thighs!

 blog photos 1032 

I have no Olive Garden in my town.  Nothing even close.  Gosh darn it I wanted some shrimp caprese.  So I pulled up the recipe.  Did you know that you can print recipes off of their website?  Well you can.  I didn’t like all of the ingredients in the recipe.  Like the huge amount of half and half you use.  Or the huge amount of cheese.  Or the 1/2 cup of white wine.  Okay I take that back, I do like the white wine!

But darn it I had a craving, and I was determined to tame it.  Kind of the same way I tame my sweet tooth.  It’s Valentine’s people don’t judge!

blog photos 1034

Shrimp & Tomato Pasta

  • 1/2 lb. pasta
  • 1 pint of grape tomato, cut in half
  • olive oil & Italian herbs (for tomatoes)
  • 1/4c olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2t-1t crushed red pepper (depending on how much heat you like)
  • 1T Italian herbs
  • 2lbs. shrimp (fresh please)
  • sprinkle of parm
  1. Cover the tomatoes with olive oil and Italian seasoning in a bowl, allow to marinate for one hour
  2. Cook pasta according to package directions, drain reserving 1/2c of cooking liquid (you may or may not need this)
  3. In large saucepan heat up 1/4c olive oil, garlic, pepper, herbs, shrimp, and tomatoes.  Cook until shrimp are pink.  Toss in the pasta.  At this point you may need to add a little of the cooking liquid to the mixture.  Our shrimp were fresh, which if you ever cook fresh shrimp you know they loose water in the cooking process.  Which means that I didn’t need the pasta water, but reserve it just in case.
  4. Sprinkle some parm over the pasta and toss well.  You can sprinkle additional parm when serving. 

**this dish is wonderful with fresh basil chopped and sprinkled over the top of the pasta, hurry spring!**

***yes buy 2 lbs of shrimp if you are buying fresh.  I know it sounds like a lot for a pasta dish, but remember the shrimp are weighed with the heads and shells still on.  Once you prepare for cooking 1lb. will not be enough***

blog photos 1033

Totally tamed the craving, paired perfectly with steamed veggies, and my thighs haven’t gained a pound (at least not from the dinner – candy on the other hand…….)

Take that Olive Garden!!

5 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Louisiana, Uncategorized

5 responses to “shrimp and tomato pasta

  1. fairyhealthylife

    First off, how do you not have an olive garden in your town?! And that looks so delicious and simple! I love shrimp and tomato together!

  2. I’m so glad to have found your blog! It’s beautiful! This shrimp pasta recipe looks delicious! I love shrimp in pasta. Off to look at more of your site! :)

  3. Ha I know exactly what you mean about getting a meal in your head and being unable to get it out. Pretty great that you were able to have it anyway! :) What’s not to love about caprese?!

  4. I am the same way – I find it hard to read about all these nice foods b/c of that ;) I lvoe the olive garden and Canada doesn’t have it….looks like I’m going to have to try and make on of their meals too!

Leave a Reply

