Who needs magazines?

My love for magazine subscriptions began years ago (we will not say how many) in high school.  What girl didn’t have Seventeen magazine come to her in the mail?  I mean it was the best way to pick out dresses for homecoming, prom, hairstyles, and lots more.

I use to be a subscription whore!  There I said it.  I admit it.  There was a point in my life when I had three to four magazine subscriptions monthly. 

As I grew older my covers changed.  I began reading Glamour and Cosmopolitan (which is still my favorite drink by the way).  Then I became addicted to food.  So I decided it was time to give Cooking Light and Bon Appetite a try.  Which I really enjoy by the way. 

Then along came my quest for clean eating and exercise.  With that came subscriptions to Clean Eating Magazine and Oxygen.  You ever want to make yourself feel fat and kill it in the gym because of that…….open an Oxygen mag!

Oh and let’s not forget the free subscription of Better Homes and Gardens that I have been getting for over a year now…..yeah that freeness turned into a subscription.  Needless to say I had to stop.  I was spending way to much money, and let’s face it you can get it all on the net now!

new camera 044

But my love for subscriptions continues.  I am down to just the Better Homes and Gardens magazine, but much to the hubsters dismay I started a new subscription!

Birchbox!  What is Birchbox?  It is a subscription that brings you the best in beauty……that is their words!  For ten dollars a month you will get 4-5 beauty samples delivered right to your door.  How fun is that!!  For a product junkie like myself……it is heavenly :)

new camera 045

Every month, you’ll receive a box filled with 4-5 beauty samples from luxury brands. Each month will include a different mix of product types, including makeup, skincare, fragrance, body, and hair care. All samples are generously sized, with enough product to allow you to figure out if they’re right for you. You’ll also want to take advantage of Birchbox.com, which is packed with all the beauty information and tips you need, including expert interviews, helpful tutorials, and fun videos.

Basically it contains sample sized products every month for you to try out.  The site has a beauty profile that you fill out when you join so the products are tailored to your profile, hand picked, and delivered to your door.  I am so excited about this!  I received my welcome box which has some really cool stuff in it:  Viva La Juicy sample, pink lip gloss sample, designer eye liner (which I can’t wait to try!!), a travel puff to help with the oil and such (this will totally be used), and some fashion tape to help with prevent those oops moments when you are out (no nipples flashing here girls!!)

new camera 049 new camera 046

new camera 047 new camera 048

You also have the option of ordering any of the full sized products from their site, which in return helps you earn member points!  They offer a monthly, quarterly, or yearly subscription plan.  I opted for the yearly.  I tend to do that when available because I hate having to keep up with monthly billing. 

I can’t wait to see what I start getting in my actual sample boxes.  As I stated this was a welcome box so from what I have seen on other sites it was smaller than what you should expect.  There is also a little snack treat included in many of the boxes :) 

I will post my monthly boxes on the blog when I receive them with a review of the products used.  What better way to find new things than trying monthly samples, and I love to share with everyone things that I discover and love!  I am in no way being paid to review any of the products I receive.  As stated above this is a subscription so I have actually paid to get the products.

Hopefully you guys will get some good tips/suggestions out of this as well.  If you are interested in possibly starting your own subscription please visit the website through the link above. 

They have a “waiting list” to get the subscriptions, but it is not very long.  I think I had my invitational email within a week or so of joining the list.  I come across this site through another blog.  Which is why I love the blog world!!      

2 Comments

Filed under beauty, FASHION, makeup, products, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Who needs magazines?

  1. fairyhealthylife

    That is so cool! I’m a product junkie also. I can’t wait for your reviews! :)

  2. I’m on the waiting list! and I’m such a product junkie, so this would be perfect!

Leave a Reply

