Two for Tuesday

ONE>……………………………………………….

Today is Christmas tree day!  We are going to pick out our tree this afternoon.  I am soooo excited :)

Peppermint Brownies

I used the brilliant recipe from How Sweet It Is for these little gems.  With a few subs of course.  After all this girl is more happy with gluten free treats……and less sugar is a plus as well!  Head on over to the link above for the original recipe.  Then to make my version simply sub the flour with gluten free all purpose, and 3/4 cup of the sugar with stevia baking blend!  Oh and I made less frosting since I wanted a thin layer.  You know the whole less sugar thing. 

I have to admit I was very skeptical about making these brownies.  I for one HATE anything made with beans (as in baked goods anyway) so when I picked up a bag of all purpose gluten free I was prepared to hate them.  It contains garbanzo bean flour.  YUCK!  I was also a little nervous about the stevia blend.  You see I have used it  before and hated it as well.  Which is why I didn’t sub all of the sugar in the recipe with the baking blend.  I decided to keep some of the sweet stuff.  That and the peppermint frosting on top is what makes these little babies ok in my book.  Because honestly when I taste them without the frosting……….I didn’t like them :(

I’m guessing that I just need to get use to the whole gluten free flour taste.  If any of you have any advice, suggestions, or tips please share :)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Two for Tuesday

  1. I hate when I take the time to make something new and it comes out gross. I sorta think it’s not even worth the effort to make baked goods gluten free….for me, there’s just usually no way they’re gonna come out as good (or at least they haven’t when I’ve tried!). I’d rather stick to ice cream or just chocolate by itself. Hope you had a nice thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

