No School Today :(

You may be wondering why my title is followed by a sad face ??  Don’t worry I will get to that.  This morning started like any typical work morning.  Rise & Shine at 5:45 a.m., shower and make breakfast.

Sometimes you feel like a nut!!  As in Almond Joy Oats!  This is one recipe that I can create in different ways.  I usually add in cocoa or melted chocolate chips; however, this morn I kept it simple since it is a work day.

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 tbs. flax
  • 2/3 cup boiling water
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • shredded coconut & coconut extract
  • slivered almonds
  1. Mix oats and flax in a cereal bowl.  Pour the boiling water over the oats, cover with a plate, and let them sit for about 5 minutes to “cook”
  2. Mix the protein powder, coconut extract, and shredded coconut in the mixture.
  3. Top with wheat germ and almonds….Enjoy!!

This mornings cup of joe was none other than our daily go to of Communitey Dark Roast.

After breakfast I finished dressing for work……..now to explain that sad face above…..

My baby was still sick this morning.  His temp was up which means he can’t go to school.  So I woke up, dressed, and prepared for the day only to stay home today with him.  Would have been nice to sleep in a little later & lounge around in my yoga pants & T-shirt! 

So what is a girl to do when faced with a “free” day…..catch up on laundry & clean the fridge out.  Wasn’t long and I was needing a snack!

Roasted red pepper hummus on 1/2 of a sandwich thin.

Aren’t these a beauty, I pulled them out of the fridge while cleaning!

So now that I have an open afternoon to take my time and cook a delish meal, I think I will use these babies tonight.

Stayed tuned for dinner……….

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

4 responses to “No School Today :(

  1. I like your take on almond joy oatmeal, what a great idea!

  2. Colleen

    Hooray for this oatmeal recipe!!!! I hopped to your blog from the kitchen table and I am so glad I did. I am getting bored of my standard oats so this will be a great thing to try. I like your blogg too! Keep up the good work : )

Leave a Reply

