When life throws you Curve Balls?

The morning started of well today for a change.  I was up with the alarm, dressed, and ready to go 15 minutes early….what!!  Breakfast was a fall basic for me but still super yummy!

Pumpkin Pie Oats with Raisins!!

1/3 cup oats

  • 2 tbs. ground flax seed
  • 2 tbs. wheat germ
  • 2/3 cup boiling water
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin
  • Pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • Splash of almond milk & vanilla extract
  • Sprinkle of raisins
    1. Mix the oats, flax, wheat germ, and boiling water in a bowl, let it sit for 5 minutes.
    2. Mix together pumpkin, spice, and extract…stir into oats.
    3. Mix together splash of milk, protein powder…stir into oats
    4. Top with raisins

The vanilla protein powder gives it the perfect pumpkin pie sweetness !

 Dropped the kids off at their school and headed to mine.  I was armed with my coffee, cooler, and my I can get it done in a day attitude!!  Started working on my lovely stack of paperwork and progress reports that are due out on Friday!

Around 8:45 I decided I needed a snack.  Carrots & Roasted Red Pepper Hummus!!  I could eat this stuff by the bowl!

Finished a little more work, typed up an IEP (this is special education talk here), and then came lunch….Yes, I eat alot!!  5-6 times a day to be exact.  3 meals, 2 snacks…gotta keep the metabolism going!

 

Look at those beautiful greens!! 🙂  Lentils with brown rice and a big spinach, kale, and tuna salad.

 I was a little chilled so I decided to make a nice cup of tea.

 

I work at a middle school so you gotta have some humor!!

I have this for a snack later….this pic is outside of my room at school!

 

So now on to the curve balls……

I was home yesterday with my youngest son due to sickness.  This week is a hectic and busy week at work.  Report cards go out on Friday, which means I have to have my progress reports from therapy complete by then!!  This is curve ball numero uno.

Curve Ball # 2 – get a call at 12 to pick up oldest son from school…headache & fever, the start of the virus!

 Curve Ball # 3 – not here yet but I know it is coming- I will have to stay home with him tomorrow since the yucky stuff will show up later!!

 3 strikes and I will be out…not so much!  When life throws me curve balls, I put on my “big girl panties” and play the game!!  Like the wonderfully dedicated speech therapist that I am, I packed all of my work to bring home.  It looks like I will be finishing progress reports from the house; I really hate having to bring work home, but what must be done…must be done!

 Have a yummy soup coming up tonight 🙂

How do you handle life’s curve balls?

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, lunch

One response to “When life throws you Curve Balls?

  1. I’d like to invite you to join our site http://www.erecipe.com . I really enjoy your blog and recipes and I think the over 8,000 unique daily visitors to eRecipe will too.
    By joining eRecipe, we will provide the Nutrition Facts for every recipe you post in which you could customize and add to your blog. Viewers need and love to know the nutritional facts. Its a free service that we offer to blogs and recipes we really love. It looks professional and your members will love it.
    Simply visit http://www.erecipe.com or contact me at erecipe00@gmail.com. We look forward having you in our network!

Leave a Reply

