1 potato, 2 potato, 3 potato, 4….

My poor mouth has been in excrutiating pain all day today 😦  I have tried taking some Advil but it doesn’t seem to be helping.  Well at least my snack was easy to consume and tasty to boot.  Of course it is easy to drink through a straw!
The Green Monster

 It blends in well with my flowers.  My lovely afternoon snack.  Green Monster: spinach, banana, almond milk, flax, wheat germ, peanut butter, and ice.  This was very smooth, cold, and easy to consume considering that I can barely open my mouth at the moment.  Boy my husband will be excited that I can’t talk, yell, fuss at him for once 🙂

We managed to get out of the house for a short time period this afternoon.  This is mainly due to the fact that I had to go pick up the little one from school.  I stopped by and picked up the plates I had my eye on!

Dinner Plate
Appetizer Plate
Salad Plate

Aren’t they so cute!  I love cute, different dishes.  I need to collect some more to make my photos a little more interesting!

Look at those little baby potatoes!  I love sweet potatoes.  They are pretty much like me and kale, or me and oats.  I will eat them any way you cook them.  One of the comforts of fall.  The first thought was to mash them as a side dish with more soup.  Blah!  I need soft foods but I do not want to burn myself out on them too quickly.  I have already had soup twice!  As I was sitting here contemplating what I wanted to do with those potatoes for dinner something occured to me.  “What can I do with mashed potatoes?”, I asked myself.  How about a dish from Scottland that I grew up on!  It is comfort food, yummy, and much healthier than the childhood version.  So tonight’s dinner is……

None other than Shepard’s Pie 🙂 

  • chopped onion
  • minced garlic
  • olive oil
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 lb. ground turkey (lentils, beans)
  • 1 cup peas (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 tbs. oregano
  • 1 cups of stock (chicken or veggie)
  • 2 tbs. tomato paste
  • 1 tbs. corn starch
  • 1 lb sweet potatoes
  • cinnamon, nutmeg, and cayenne
  • 1 tbs. earth balance
  • buttermilk
  1. Peel & dice sweet potatoes, cover with water, and boil until tender.
  2. Saute your onion, garlic, carrot, and celery in olive oil.  Add the ground turkey, and oregano.  Cook until no longer pink.  Add the peas.
  3. Mix your broth, tomato paste, and corn starch in a bowl until corn starch disolves.  Pour into the meat/veggie mixture.  Cook until thickened.
  4. Drain sweet potatoes and mash with a masher.  Add sprinkle of cinnamon, nutmeg, a pinch of cayenne, earth balance, and buttermilk.  Mix until smooth.
  5. Pour meat/veggie in a casserole dish.  Place a layer of spinach leaves over the mixture.  Top it with the sweet potatoes.
  6. Bake in the oven at 400 for 30 minutes.

 Did you know that this “pie” has a few different names?  AKA:  Cottage Pie, Cowboy Pie, and if seafood is used Fish Pie.  You can also substitute lentils or beans to make a vegetarian dish.  That is today’s history lesson folks!

Now you may ask yourself what to do with the remaining tomato paste if you only use 2 tbs.  Do you throw it away?  Heck No!!  Try my little trick…. place wax paper on a pan and drop the tomato paste on top by spoonfuls.  Place in the freezer and freeze them.  Once they are frozen you can place them in a ziplock bag, you now have individual portions of tomato paste!

On to dessert!!  I know I will want something to “munch” on later since we ate dinner early.  I made some “Almond Joy” protein balls.  I needed something soft and delish!  I will enjoy a couple of these with some banana “ice cream”:)

I think I may even throw in a chunck of frozen avocado for some healthy fats!  My mouth is “killing” me so I am going to catch up on everyone’s posts for the day.  I can see some nighttime tylenol coming soon 😦

Leave a comment

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

