Frrriiiiidddaaayyyy!!

It’s Friday!!!  I love Fridays.  The last day of the work week merging with the beginning of the weekend is sure to be a great day.  Not only is it a great day, but I didn’t have to be in a rush to get going this morning.  I was able to go into work a little later, and the kiddos were out of school; therefore, I didn’t have to concern myself with car pool. 

I started off my Friday in style this morning with a lovely bowl of……

“Banana Cream Pie” Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • 1/2 diced banana
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder
  • pinch of salt, dash of vanilla
  • cinnamon
  • 1 tbs. ground flax
  • 1 tbs. wheat germ
  1. Bring the milk and water to a boil, throw in the banana, throw in the oats & flax.  Add a pinch of salt, dash of vanilla, and whisk til creamy!
  2. Combine the yogurt & protein powder, add a dash of almond milk to thin it out a little.
  3. Pour the oats into a bowl, pour the yogurt mixture on top of the oats, top with diced banana, and sprinkle with cinnamon 🙂

I love drinking coffee on lazy mornings out of my cup & saucer.  It makes me feel like I am at a little Bistro!

How can this day get any better?  Easy if you work in my school district.  Today was parent/teacher conference day; therefore, the children were not at school.  I for one do not have to do parent conferences on this day due to my position…..

So what do I do?  I am a Speech Therapist, I have conferences with my parents frequently in order to develop IEP’s for the students I service.  So a free day sounds great right?  Well normally, yes.  However, my day was spent catching up on work due to missing 2 & 1/2 days this week with my own children being sick.  UGH!  Loads of paperwork, but still a good peaceful “catch up” day.

I had a nice cup of soup for lunch today, still having difficulty eating solid foods with the mouth being so sore 😦   My kale soup is soooo yummy, I think I could eat this everyday.  Okay well maybe not everyday, but at least for awhile until I get tired of it.

 

I made a lovely Green Monster this morning to have for my afternoon snack today, along with two of my protein “Almond Joy” balls.  Such a nice refreshing snack!

After work I hit campus for a 2 mile jog.  It was horrible.  I have built myself up to 2 miles, which makes me proud.  I usually can finish this but not today.  Between my mouth hurting, and the wind blowing full force against me I had to stop twice to walk a little.  I am thinking I made at least 1 & 3/4 of the way at a jog.  Hey if I have pain and weather against me, I’ll take it.

Tonight was breakfast night in the Garner house!!  We love our breakfast nights.   A lovely egg scramble consisting of red bell pepper, onion, mushrooms, spinach, lentils, and of course eggs.  Super filling with a small side scoop of grits 🙂

Topped off with roasted red pepper hummus and homemade salsa!

And I can’t forget the side of Great Harvest Apple Crunch Bread (my fav) with a smear of peanut butter.  Now how can dinner be any better…..

With some of these!

Pumpkin Brownies!  This recipe is from Oh She Glows and they are so good.  You must try them!  Angela is so talented!!  

These brownies are moist, sweet, and vegan to boot.  I do believe I could get myself into trouble with these!  Off to enjoy another one with a nice scoop of banana “ice cream”!

Going to go read & catch up on everyone else’s day.  The husband has a nice day planned for us tomorrow.  Saddened that I will not get to do pancakes, but excited for our plans.  Stay tuned for tomorrow post to hear about our adventure.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, lunch

One response to “Frrriiiiidddaaayyyy!!

  1. Don’t feel so bad about having to walk during your run – I take walk breaks as needed on my runs! I Love breakfast for dinner!!

Leave a Reply

