Baking Away

It has been such a wonderful day I absolutely hate for it to end!  I have really enjoyed spending time with my guys today.  It is amazing how a squeal of laughter and excitement over a little slimy creature can just melt your heart.  I will treasure each of these moments since I know the day is coming when they will be few and far between.  All too soon they will be teenagers that want nothing to do with mom!

 

I have spent some time in the kitchen baking this afternoon.  My first attempt at french bread was deemed a success!  It was a basic recipe out of a cookbook, just used healthier ingredients such as unbleached all purpose flour and raw sugar as opposed to the white stuff.  I also used an old recipe my mom gave me for a pound cake, cut the recipe in half, changed some of the ingredients (such as eggs), and added blueberries.  It is delish.  I used a muffin pan to bake them in.  They didn’t come out looking like an actual muffin.  They are moist and tasty, I will have to play around with the recipe some more 🙂 

“Blueberry Pound Cake” Cupcakes 

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 stick of earth balance, softened
  • 2 tbs. flaxseed mixed with 6 tbs. water  {egg sub. – I was out of eggs:(  }
  • 1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tsp. lemon extract
  • 1 cup blueberries
  1. Cream the earth balance and the sugar.  Add the egg (or egg substitute) and mix on low for a minute. 
  2. Sift the flour and the baking soda together.  Add the flour to the mixture, little at a time, alternating with the buttermilk. 
  3. Mix in the extract, fold in the blueberries.
  4. Grease and flour a pan
  5. Bake at 325 for 1 hour and 10 minutes
  6. Allow to cool, remove from pan

They would be tasty with some vanilla bean ice cream, or crumbled on oatmeal for breakfast 🙂

I “oven fried” the fish that was caught today.  Not a big success.  The hubster didn’t like it 😦  I wasn’t very fond of it myself; however, it was better than fried in oil (which of course is how the husband likes it).  I should have stuck with grilling!

The red beans were a hit!  I have a very small bowl of them left.  Unfortunately I have nothing green on my plate, except for the plate itself.  I feel that dinner was incomplete.  I always have something green!  I knew it would be to much food to add another dish.  I normally stick to two items (and bread for the hubster) unless it is a special occasion.

 

As you can tell I did have a little of the bread.  I love bread!  I very seldom indulge in this treat but couldn’t resist!  We also had some sliced tomato with dinner tonight sprinkled with a little sea salt and pepper.   

I am pooped tonight.  Surely I will be in bed early ( I know it is Saturday) since I was awake at 5:30 this morn.  Going to catch up on some reading and cuddle with my babies!!

Leave a comment

Filed under DINNER

Leave a Reply

