Literacy Night

My days are mixed up!  If yesterday was uneventful and mellow, today is the total opposite.  It feels like a Manic Monday!  Let’s recap shall we….

6:00 am – The hubster wakes me up, informs me of the time, and I jump out of bed to begin the rush.  What do you mean it is 6?  The clock is set for 5:30….and no I didn’t hear the alarm, duh if I did would I be in the bed at 6?

What to do for breakfast?  Overnight oats would have been perfect this morning, but I did not plan that so none available.  I could choke down a bowl of cereal….I know that will leave me hungry very soon, not satisfying.  Okay so we will just be late and enjoy quick oatmeal 🙂

Chocolate Raspberry Oatmeal

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup boiling water
  • 2 tbs. flax
  • 1 tbs. wheat germ
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • raspberry extract
  • peanut butter, coconut, granola
  1. Mix the oats, mashed banana, flax, extract in bowl.  Add 1/2 cup boiling water, cover, and let it sit for 5 minutes.
  2. Mix in wheat germ & protein powder.
  3. Top with granola, coconut, and spoon of peanut butter.

It was yummy, wam, and made the morning a little more bearable.  Am I the only one that eats around the blob of peanut butter so I can save it for last?

A nice cup of coffee to go with breakfast!

 

7:00 – rush to get kids awake and up.  I am still dressing myself at this point.  Usually I have dressed, made beds, unloaded/reloaded dishwasher by now.  This morning, still gotta finish dressing, make the beds, unload/reload dishwasher!  Jeez will I get it done in time…..

7:45 – leaving the house for work, phew!!  Only 5 minutes later than normal.  Yes, the beds are made, dishwasher unloaded/reloaded, and thankfully we are all dressed!!

8:00 – drop kids off at school through car pool, head to my school to begin my day.

8:10 – open email to all kinds of issues, blah!

Since then it has been meetings being cancelled, rescheduled, on the phone with parents, working on re-evaluations, print paperwork on new student, schedule new meeting, answering numerous emails, therapy, etc.   A very hectic work day.  Come to think of it this is worse than my usual Manic Monday’s!

Today’s cooler is pretty boring.  This is mainly due to the fact that I was running late, and also due to the fact that I desperately need to go grocery shopping to restock the basic essentials.

Around 8:30 I grabbed a Larabar to tide me over until lunch.  It didn’t help much but better than nothing.

Lunch today was pretty boring, and basically a repeat of yesterday minus the spinach.  Leftover stuffing from Sunday’s dinner with tuna mixed in, a nectarine, and some water.  No time to even make my lovely tea today 😦

My afternoon snack was hittin!!  Some of my granola with diced banana, served with almond milk 🙂  Now that put a smile on my face….and the fact that it is almost time for me to head out for the day!

Picked the kids up at school so I could rush home and figure something out for dinner.  We had some leftovers that needed to be used up so I had a combination of roasted sweet potatoes, fried rice w/ scramble egg, and pumpkin with salsa on the side.

The kids had literacy night at their school tonight.  Guess what?  I am basically back at the work venue for the evening, yuck!  But it was a fun night!!  We enjoyed several reading activities, cookies & juice, as well as a trip to the bookfair!  The smiles on my babies faces as they are showing off their books and school are priceless 🙂

Once home we read several of the new books that were purchased at the book fair.  Kohl likes to read to us!  I enjoyed some Cream of Wheat pudding since it was already mixed up in the fridge.  This is such a nice & healthy snack.  I think I will have to make some more of this, maybe a chocolate & peanut butter variation! 

Going to go snuggle with my boys and enjoy some reading!!

How do you handle hectic days?

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, lunch, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Literacy Night

  1. Dana

    I am tired just reading about your day! My boys are no longer so it makes life easier ( I have a 17 and 14 ½ yr old still at home).

    I have started packing a three day cooler to take to work on Monday (More than three days and the veggies lose their appeal to me). I have the luxury of a full size fridge at work and I am the only one that uses it (small office). I love the look on the guys faces when I wheel in my huge cooler filled with food and water.
    Sunday morning, before anyone wakes up I prep my food and prep as many dinners as possible. I can then call home when I am running late and have the boys start dinner.

    • Dana, I do have to continue learning about the blog world; however, all of the blog’s that I read daily are in the same format. That is what the blog world is about. You talk about your day, things that you are interested in, food, recipes, etc. It is a network where you form friendships with people that have the same passions as you. I am sorry that you feel this way but most bloggers do talk about their day!!

  2. Chocoloate raspberry oatmeal, yes please!

    Bootcamp classes are a ton of fun, I can imagine why it’s your favorite workout.

  3. Dana

    As posted on EATCLEANDIET.COM
    It was NOT meant to be a rude or thoughtless comment I truly enjoy your blog. The comment was meant to be a testimonial to all that you accomplished on that day you were writing about : From waking late, to getting everyone ready and out the door on time, to a hectic work schedule, after school activities and still taking care of your self and your family. I apoligize that it didn’t come off that way. It was meant to mean that “I was tired” and you were a power house and had my admiration.

    • Dana, as I have already said on the eatcleandiet site….I am sorry. I think maybe I am tired from all that I deal with that it is clouding my reading comprehension. I truly understand your commnet now!! Thank you for reading the blog, and please accept my apologies (see eatcleandiet.com)

  4. Sherrie

    Your boys are so cute!!! All of our receipes look so yummy can’t wait to try them out!! Have a blessed day!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

