Rise & Shine….uhhhh

RAIN

 

This is how my morning started 😦

 Nothing like getting wet first thing right!!  For some reason my 8 & 4-year olds still think that I am superwoman and can pack them to the car under the umbrella…yeah right!  Not happening guys just run for it.

 

Breakfast this morning was delish as always.  Of course that is because it included oatmeal, duh!!  My comment of overnight oats yesterday had me in a craving so I whipped some up last night, and since I had some fresh pineapple chunks that had to be eaten soon, I give to you…..

 Pina Colada Overnight Oats

  • ¼ cup oats
  • 1/8 cup grape nuts
  • ¼ cup plain yogurt
  • ¼ cup almond milk
  • 1/8 cup water
  • Coconut extract
  • Shredded coconut
  • 2 tbs. ground flaxseed
  • 1 tbs. wheat germ
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • Pineapple chunks 
  1. Place the first 9 ingredients into a bowl and mix well.
  2. Stir in the vanilla protein powder
  3. Cover and place in the fridge overnight.
  4. In the morning add a little milk to thin out if needed, top with pineapple chunks and Enjoy!!

 Now like I said, it is raining.  Who wants to get out in the rain?  Not me!!  But maybe if I take the time to make an Irish Cream Cappuccino to go it will be better….

Yep it was better 🙂

This is one of my favorite mugs.  My little (and I mean little) sister gave me this last Christmas.  She is turning 10 in November, yes that is right 10!!  She has a very special place in my heart that is all her own 🙂

This mornings snack had me so excited; I had a hard time waiting to enjoy it!  I had to keep reminding myself…it is not snack time and you are truly not hungry since you just ate breakfast an hour ago, you are currently drinking your capp., with a bottle of water on top of that!  But I give to you my beloved snack!

 

Mocha Green Monster, so delish!  Now do you see why it was so hard to wait?

Started with your typical green monster combo of ½ banana, handful of spinach, ground flaxseed, and almond milk.  Add in 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder and 1 packet of instant coffee.  Top with ice and blend your heart away.

Lunch today was some fried rice, pumpkin, and a black bean patty I threw together last night with some beans that had to be used up.

 I am not posting the recipe for the bean burgers yet since I do not like the outcome at the moment.  I added some pumpkin and bulgur wheat into the beans with a few other ingredients.  It needs a bit more flavor and it didn’t hold shape very well while cooking.  I will revisit this soon with a good post!

Look what made a comeback today!  Yep, finally had time to stop and make my tea.  Today’s brew is pomegranate green tea.

This afternoon’s snack was all about pumpkin.  I seriously planned this one out folks, I spent hours working on this one for you….um not!!

This too is a combination of ingredients that needed to be used since only a little was left in each container.  A scoop of plain yogurt, a scoop of cottage cheese, a couple of scoops of pumpkin (cuz I’m lovin it right now), ½ a scoop of vanilla protein powder, tbs. of agave nectar, and some good ol’ pumpkin pie spice.  I grabbed a little plum on my out to cut up into my “pumpkin pudding”. 

Sorry Kohl, mommy just couldn’t resist.  He loves his plums!

Had a great 4 mile jog/walk this afternoon, the weather was beautiful!  That was a nice change from this morning.  Tonight’s dinner was simple but delish!  I wanted something quick but tasty.

Grilled Chicken Salad Wrap

I used a can of chicken for this, I prefer actual chicken breast but I needed quick.  So the mixture in chicken, diced apples, diced boiled egg, golden raisins, Mrs. Dash garlic & herb seasoning, diced tomatoes, little sea salt & cracked black pepper, dijon mustard, plain greek yogurt, 2 tbs. mayo (just to cover up yogurt taste for the hubster).  Mix all together.  Brush wrap with a little olive oil or earth balance.  Place chicken mixture in middle, top with spinach, sliced mushrooms, and Brie cheese.  Grill on both sides until cheese melts and wrap in lightly browned. 

Mmmmmm…just look at that gooey, yummy, goodness 🙂  A side of fried rice & nice glass of water to complete the meal.

The day started off gloomy and ugly but ended beautifully!

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, lunch, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Rise & Shine….uhhhh

  1. Karen

    Never thought of grilling the wrap sandwiches…this opens up a whole new world for me Helen!

  2. Dana

    I am always impressed with the delicious things you create from items that “had to be used”. Kudos to you!
    I would love to try your smoothie. Does the spinach blend well or does it add texture to the drink? I am okay eitehr way but like to know what to expect!
    I always try to have some on hand. I have noticed that I am not eating enough Veggies and this would be a great way to sneak them in.

    • Hi Dana, yes the spinach does blend well. You can also use kale, any kind of fruit, protein powder, sweetners, the possibilities are endless. The greens give you a great source of nutrients in your smoothie and help to really energize you. I love them! Start experimenting with it you will be hooked. You can add the spinach to any smoothie combination that you already use, it makes them green hence the name Green Monster! Angela from Oh She Glows has a web page dedicated to this. Green Monster Movement!

Leave a Reply

