Meet Sam!

Finally a normal morning.  Okay wait a minute.  I have two boys, no morning is normal…lol!!

A good morning, how about that.  No rushing around for me today.  I was up with the alarm, today is jean day so dressed in no time, and the spare time to really concentrate on breakfast this morning 🙂

I call them my loaded “Thanksgiving Dessert” oats….

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 tbs. ground flax
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1 tbs. wheat germ
  • cranberries, golden raisins, pomegranate seeds, sliced almonds, shredded coconut, granola, naturally!
  1. Mix milk & water in pan.  Add the banana when begins to boil with oats & flax.  Turn on low and simmer.  Whisk to cream the banana in the oats.
  2. Add the pumpkin during last minute of cooking.
  3. Pour oats in a bowl and top with remaining ingredients.

I promise there are oats under all of that!  Doesn’t that just look and sound like a spread of “Thanksgiving Desserts” 🙂

The hubster started me off with a nice cup of coffee….um….what is up with the Christmas mug?  Hello it is October!!  Guess I shouldn’t complain since he did bring it to me.

Okay so meet Sam!! 

This is Kohl’s puppy, Sam.  Sam is sick today, he has a fever 😦  Kohl had to bring him in the car this morning.  He wanted to take him to school, but mom had to intervene on that one.  He made me promise that I wouldn’t leave Sam in the car because that is bad.  I never break a promise to my boys so….Sam is with me at work!!

This mornings snack was some more of my Granola, Naturally! with 1/2 sliced banana, topped with milk!  I am addicted to that granola!

Lunch was yummy today!  An open face chicken salad sandwich with spinach, a cheese stick, and a squash and apple casserole I grabbed out of the freezer last night.

The Maple Butternut Squash and Apple Casserole is super yummy!!  The recipe is courtesy of Angela over at Oh She Glows, that girl knows a thing or two about food!!

I have a dinner to cook for our neighbors tonight.  They are moving into their new house that is finally complete.  I am helping out by providing them with a lovely dinner so they can concentrate on unpacking 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Meet Sam!

  1. So sweet of you to supply dinners for your neighbors. I am sure they are very grateful for that!!
    All of the food looks wonderful. You’re right – those oats do seem like a T-givs dessert spread 😛 I was addicted to pomegranates this time last year…but man, are they a pain to get into! I’m not sure if I’ll be so addicted this year, due solely to that one fact! lol

  2. Now sam is just adorable. My son has a very similar puppy that he has to always have, and if he doesn’t have it, I best so his baby sister can’t or he is very upset. It is amazing how children cling to a stuffed animal so easily.

    BTW… I need to work with you. Your lunch surpasses anything I ever make. I prefer the classic, PB&J 🙂

    Anne

    • Girll I love some PB&J…but yes my collegues at work are almost as spoiled as my family. I actually baked pumpkin brownies tonight to bring with me to work for a few of them tomorrow!!

  3. Pingback: A little Spice in my Life :) | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

