Tranquility

Tranquility:  quality or state of being tranquil; calmness; peacefulness; quiet; serenity.

My internal alarm clock is automatically set to wake up at 6:00 a.m.  This is usually the time I am up on any given morning without an alarm clock as long as I am in bed at a decent time.  Now I will admit that I do occasionally sleep later depending on my level of exhaustion upon going to bed. 

I do not mind being awake at this time on the weekends.  Why, you might ask?  Take a look a the picture below!

Yes that is what is looks like sitting on my front porch at this time in the morning.  Complete darkness and quiet.  Upon waking I make a pot of coffee, then retreat to this little haven to enjoy a steaming cup.  The weather is perfect this time of year!  The temperatures are cool but not so cold that you must have a heavy jacket.

Here is another picture that is sure to convince some of you that it is worth being awake at this time!

This is our neighbors night light shining through the Magnolia tree.  It is so beautiful and peaceful.  As I sit here, I realize how beautiful tranquility is.  It is quiet & peaceful!

I take this moment to reflect on things in my life.  To be thankful for all that I have.  God has blessed my life with a wonderful husband & two adorable boys!  We have a nice home, supporting/wonderful families, financial security, and the freedom to sit on our porch in the dawning hours to enjoy peace and beauty.

 

This is my tranquil moment.  A moment that I look forward to each and every week.  I take a moment to dwell in the quiet for I know that soon it will be lost to the hustle & bustle of the days activity.

Then the sun slowly begins to rise.  It is time to refill the coffee mug, start thinking about breakfast, and begin the day.  However, it is so peaceful out that I decide to bring my coffee back out to enjoy the peace a little longer.

 

Unfortunately the chair had other plans!  Haha, I think it is finally time to replace the chair.  It seems that there was a little tear in the fabric, which in turn has ripped leaving me with a lap full of coffee!!  Oh well, guess I am pushing the moment of tranquility a little too long.  

Time for breakfast 🙂  I do love my Saturday breakfast!  On the menu this morning:  “fried” egg, slice of ham, and two lovely “Fall Cakes” 🙂

Pumpkin Pie Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. each baking powder & soda
  • dash of salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • pumpkin pie seasoning
  • vanilla almond milk
  • vanilla extract
  • honey
  1. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl.  In a seperate bowl combine wet ingredients w/ pumpkin pie spice and honey.  I didn’t measure the honey or spices, add to your taste.  I also did not measure the milk.  I like my pancake batter a little thicker than the norm.  Adjust the milk a little at a time until desired consistency.
  2. Blend the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients and cook on a griddle or in a pan
  3. Place toppings on pancakes before flipping.  I used cranberries, golden raisins, and sliced almonds.

I of course smeared some of my coconut butter on top of them and drizzled with honey.  The pancakes are yummy enough to eat without syrup but you may add if you want.

Breakfast was wonderful this morning!  Now of course the house “wakes up” as I am sitting down to eat.  Oh well, the tranquility is definitely gone now 🙂

Time to get ready to start my day!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

