time flies when….

There are moments when I wish that I could make time slow down.  Today I have had several of those moments.  A wonderful afternoon of baking/cooking, and a wonderful family “date” 😉   

I not only like Saturday & Sunday because they are the days of the weekend.  I also like them because I have time to spend in my kitchen!  I always try to cook great dinners on these days for the sole purpose of I have time.  Time to really read and study a recipe.  Time to prep the ingredients, premeasure them, and actually time to cook. 

I love to cook.  It is a passion that I have.  I love new recipes, old recipes, baking, and of course the end result of all – eating!  Today I spent some time in my kitchen baking.  I wanted a good array of snacks for the week ahead that we can “grab and go”. 

On the menu today:

  • Roasted BBQ Chickpeas
  • Helen, Naturally Bars
  • Blueberry Muffins

The bars are really good!  I make soft, chewy bars since it is difficult for me to eat crunchy foods with braces 😦  However, I do love soft baked items!

A lovely pan of Helen, Naturally Bars! 🙂 

The chickpease are a favorite of mine.  I mix them up with different seasonings and herbs.  I can’t have popcorn so these take the place of my “something crunchie” for t.v. time.  Not that I get much time to watch any t.v.!!  Drain, rinse, and pat dry chickpeas.  Place in a baking pan lined with aluminum foil.  Drizzle with olive oil & sprinkle generously with paprika & garlic powder.  Now sprinkle a little cayenne pepper on top and toss around to mix and coat well.  Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes.

The blueberry muffins are simple.  I actually use my pancake recipe and add in blueberries!  The only addition to the recipe is 1/2 cup of raw sugar, and of course the blueberries.

I am prepared with yummy treats for the week!

After the hubster watched his beloved Nascar Race (yeah this is a weekend thing) we took the boys out for fro-yo 🙂  I love fro-yo.  It is one of the hardest things to abstain from with eating clean.  However, today is an exception!  Why is today an exception?  Once a month we have what we call “family date”.  This usually entails some form of eating/treat.  We let them decide the treat for today, of course they wanted “ice cream” 🙂  So who am I to tell my babies no family fro-yo!

Mmmmm, so delish!  I couldn’t decide what to get today, so many good choices.  I went with georgia peach, blueberry cheesecake, and cake batter.  I should have stuck with the blueberry pomegranate as opposed to the blueberry cheesecake!  Topped with granola, cheesecake bites (4 of these), cookie dough bites (like 2-3).  What is that on top you ask?….None other than warm gooey marshmallow cream 🙂  Who doesn’t love a squirt of marshmallow cream.

 

I had a great time preparing dinner for tonight.  Tonight’s dinner is mainly for the hubster.  He is so good as to eat whatever I cook during the week, and to accept my clean eating habits, that I always try to cook some of his favorites (of course totally not clean) items on Sundays. 

On the menu for the hubster – Fried pork chop, hash brown casserole, beer braised turnip greens w/ ham, and cheesy bread.  Such a heart attack waiting to happen….lol!  He loves hashbrown casserole.

For myself I roasted some okra, sweet potoato slices, zucchini, and cherry tomatoes!  I had a handful of BBQ chickpeas with tonight’s dinner, and yes I did have some of those turnip greens.  Hey they are clean & healthy! 

Kohl wanted a picture of his hash brown casserole for the blog 🙂  I think I have a future blogger on my hands.  He is always telling me he has to take a picture of his stuff too!

Now that I have a full tummy and some achy shoulders from cooking all afternoon (which the hubster will surely massage for me)…okay no laughing I am sure I can bribe him!  I am going to go do a little reading and relaxing 🙂

What do you do for family time?  How often do you have family “dates”?

3 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

3 responses to “time flies when….

  1. Such great treats for the week!! I hear you – I like to “prep” for the week in the same way. I used to not like having leftovers for dinner – but now I swear by them. I mean, I can get home from work, and by the time I change into comfy clothes, my dinner’s warmed up from the microwave/stove, and it’s just as good as it was the night before 🙂
    Those bars look delicious, too. I love chewy bars over crunchy 😉

  2. Dana

    Every thing you make looks wonderful. I cook a lot on the weekend too. It is when I have the time to make those time consuming meals.
    Family dates, well I have found that I need to “force” my boys into them. Teenagers! No self respecting teenage boy admits that hanging out with the parents is fun (even though they do have a good time!). I am almost ashamed to admit we have been on the great cupcake search in Jacksonville. Who has the best cupcake in town? Once or twice a month we try a new cupcake place and the boys get their choice. Then after dinner they eat them and rate them. Currently Cami cakes holds the title (although Cupcake girls are tasty and very pretty). Okay, not the healthiest option but a cupcake or two a month is just fine for the boys. I am happy to report that I really don’t feel the need to eat them.

    • That is a great family outing! I know how those teenagers can be which is why I try to take in all I can at their age now. I know that all too soon they will not want to hang with mom!

Leave a Reply

