Monday Morning Blues

I have never been a fan on Monday mornings.  That is unless it also happens to be Christmas day or summer vacay, but all in all I have never been one to wake up and rejoice that it is Monday!

Monday only means it is the start of the work week.  That is not as appealing to me as say Friday 🙂  On a day like today, it is even less appealing 😦

RAIN…yuck!  I could hear the rain outside this morn while I was deciding what toppings to use in breakfast.  According to our local weather we will have rain off and on through out the week…blah!

So in keeping with the mood I decided to deem this Monday Morning Blues.  As in Blueberries and Cream Oatmeal !)  Now that is enough to put a smile on my face even if it is Monday!

No, all the white stuff is not coconut butter!  Although it is tempting to just pour it on since it is so good 🙂

Blueberries & Cream Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 tbs. ground flax seed
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 2 tbs. wheat germ
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder w/ 2-3 tbs. almond milk
  • peanut butter & coconut butter

Combine the water, milk, blueberries, and banana in a small pan on the stove, bring to a slight boil.  Add the oats and flaxseed, cook according to directions.  Whisk occasionally during cooking to “cream” the banana.  When it is finished cooking whisk in the wheat germ and vanilla extract.  Pour into a bowl.

Now take the scoop of vanilla protein powder and mix it with a couple tablespoons of almond milk.  You may heat in the micorwave for a few secs. to take the chill out of it.  Pour the “cream” on top of the oatmeal.  Top with more berries and toppings of choice! 🙂

Of course I did top it with a little of the coconut butter and peanut butter!

This is good enough to want “morning blues” weekly.  Check out my coffee mug!  It was one of those gifts for the hubster but I will be the one using it type gifts.  I have always said that I am not spoiled, I just get what I want.  The wording is different but still the same concept!

Around 9 this morn I decided it was time for a little snack.  Some of my roasted chick peas and a Helen, Naturally Bar!  A nice filling snack.

Had a very hectic morning today, come to think of it this could also be deemed Manic Monday as well!!  Lots of parent calls, emails, schedule shifts, etc.  Every school based SLP’s nightmare 😦

Lunch is what I call “The Loaded Bowl”.  It basically consists of any and everything left over in the fridge pilled into one bowl.  It has sweet potatoes, roasted root veggies from the weekend, okra, greens & black eyed peas, as well as some of the yummy greens & ham from last night.  Those things were even better today!

I am so looking forward to my bootcamp class tonight, after the day I have had today I need to let out some frustraiton and get rid of some stress!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, lunch, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

