Sensational Salad

Wow what a day!!  I have been non-stop since my feet hit the floor this morn.  I normally have at least two breaks during the day to catch my breath, stretch a little, and just take a break from my desk.  Did I have that today?  Um, no :p

I was so looking forward to this afternoon’s snack.  I needed that little taste of fall along with the caffeine.  I made a pumpkin spiced latte to enjoy with my muffin this afternoon. 

  • 3 oz. almond milk
  • 3 oz. water
  • 1 packet of instant coffee
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 3 tbs. pumpkin
  • shake of pumpkin pie spice

Blend all ingredients together in blender and enjoy.  Trust me when I say use a blender to make these as opposed to just whisking the ingredients.

I may or may not have had a small chunk of a Helen Naturally Bar as well!  I surely needed that boost for bootcamp class.  But guess what?  I didn’t make it to bootcamp class 😦 

I know that is sad!  I so enjoy that class and look forward to it weekly.  However today was just as busy for the hubster, which means he wasn’t home in time for me to go.  Instead I opted for a treadmill workout.  It was great!  I was on the treadmill for 30 minutes with the incline on 15.  My legs were pumping!!

I decided that tonight’s dinner needed to be quick, nutricious, filling, and include lots of yummy veggies.  So I give to the boys none other than – Salad Bar!!

The mix included:

  • Greens (kale, romaine, and iceburg)
  • cucumbers
  • tomatoes
  • brown rice pasta
  • Sardine Salad
  • Salsa
  • Cranberries
  • Golden raisins
  • Various dressings

The sardine salad was a mix of finely diced green bell pepper, radishes, carrots, 1/2 jalapeno pepper, greek yogurt, dijon mustard, and ranch seasoning.  The idea for the sardine salad came from other blogs that I have read, and I have to admit I am not a fan!  I absolutely love tuna, so I was thinking I would like this as well.  It is way to “fishy” for me.  We will not use this in our salad bars in the future.  Sorry for those that like it, just not my taste!

A wonderful huge plate of salad.  I also had a little roasted sweet potato and okra on the side that was left in the fridge!  This was quick and easy!

I love all the colors in my salad.  This is one of my favorites go to meals when I am tired and need something easy for the entire family.  It is also very filling with the pasta in it as well as some form of protein.  I usually grill chicken breasts or shrimp to place on top, yummy!! 🙂

What is your favorite easy go to meal?

4 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Sensational Salad

  1. lynn

    Hi, first time here, love your space!!! I was wondering if the pumpkin spice latte could be served hot and if so what is the best way to get it there? Also I was looking for your recipe for the Helen Naturally Bar, is that available somewhere? Great blog… can’t wait to try the latte…

  2. My favorite easy go to meal is soup and a sandwich. We always have leftover soups in the freezer for situations like that. Glad you still got in a great workout!

Leave a Reply

