What’s kickin……chicken!

Why must pharmacies anger me in the afternoon.  Is it because they get some sort of kickback for the number of times that you will have to pay them a visit?  I had to go and fill my son’s scrip for his ADHD meds, which I was told would take them 30 minutes to do, only to be told that they didn’t have it in stock!  What?!  You let me walk around your store for 30 minutes with two kids just to tell me you don’t have it!!

ImgSalsLexntnKy 

That pharmacy obviously needs a revolving door!  So here we go driving to the nearest Walgreens to see if I can get his meds filled.  After much delay I finally was told that they had the meds and could fill it in an hour.  At least she was kind enough to check that it was in!

So with all that going on I didn’t get to the gym as early as I wanted to.  Which means I didn’t get to run outside again today since I had to fit in my weight training.  I haven’t hit the weights in 2 weeks and I tell you I surely missed it.  So I used the treadmill at the gym for 15 minutes on incline of 15 to warm up.  Then I did a circuit with the machines for lower body and a few light upper body since I will not be back on the machines until Thursday & Friday.  I really need to get back on my weights routine

So back to the hubster!  I must admit that he did redeem himself this evening.  I was informed when I called him (to fuss about the pharmacy) that he was picking up charcoal and liter fluid.  He decided he would grill some chicken for dinner tonight.  This of course makes me a happy lady since I only have to whip up a nice side item and a salad.  He still has left over hash brown casserole to finish off as well.  So I had time this afternoon to make some of my “orange sauce” 🙂

P1000300

I know it’s not orange it is red!  I do not need to head back to Pre-K just yet.  It is made with freshly squeezed orange juice, hence the name orange sauce.  I use this in the place of my BBQ/ketchup since every sauce in the local grocery has sugar in it.  The recipe is simple!

  • 1/4 cup tomato paste
  • juice of 1 orange
  • 1 small clove garlic – minced
  • 1 tbs. minced onion
  • 1 tbs. honey
  • 1 tbs. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbs. Dijon mustard
  • Water to thin out sauce

Place all ingredients in a saucepan and whisk until heated through.  Cool and pour into a jar to place in the refrigerator.

P1000304P1000302   

We had grilled chicken, okra, and a nice salad.  The salad was topped with cranberries, sunflower seeds, and pickled green peppers!

P1000301

Time for me to go catch up on some reading.  I have two magazines that I haven’t even started on yet.  I am a magazine junkie!  The next two will be coming soon, and I have a book to finish from the library 🙂  Whew, that’s a lot of reading to catch up on!!

Do you have subscriptions for magazines?  How many?

3 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

3 responses to “What’s kickin……chicken!

  1. Dana

    We have a subscription to Bon Apetit magazine. It is due to expire Jan.1. I would like a subscription to Oxygen Magazine for Christmas.

  2. Syndie

    I used to have a few (Martha Stewart, Cooking Light, Real Simple and People) but narrowed it down to just People which is the most $$ but my most favorite 🙂 Thanks for the “ketchup” recipe. Excited to try it.

Leave a Reply

