A Man’s Meal

This would be the request I had from the hubster yesterday.  I think I vaguely remember him saying something along the lines of wanting a man’s meal.  “You know with real meat”.  Excuse me love but the last I checked turkey & chicken are both real meats!

Since I am such a loving wife I decided that I would cook the hubster a man’s meal per his request.  I have a workout schedule that I follow with Saturday’s listed as my rest days.  I will be running in a 5K this Saturday; therefore, I have switched my rest day to today just so I could make the hubster a man’s meal 🙂

Okay that is not entirely true!  I had every intention of going to boot camp class tonight  but the hubster wasn’t home in time to get the kiddos.  Since I missed the class I decided to switch out my rest day.  I will admit that I did have intentions of cooking his meal this afternoon, which is why I left some ground beef (lean of course) in the fridge to thaw today.

P1000322

The hubster is an easy man to please.  Give him steak and potatoes, he is a happy man!  Unfortunately I didn’t have any steak 😦  So I made him the next best thing – meatloaf!  He loves my meatloaf.  That and hamburger steaks are his two favorite meals that I make for him on occasion.  They both have been requested for “Hubster’s night to pick” meals. 

P1000324

I made meatloaf (with BBQ sauce on his part), garlic-parsley mashed potatoes, kale chips, and curry cabbage 🙂  Okay the curry cabbage is just something that I threw together but I didn’t know what to call it.  It turned out to be a great meal.  I ate only a small slice of the meatloaf with some of my “orange sauce” to go along with it!  I guess I could call that the Helen Naturally Sauce 🙂

The cabbage was really very simple to make!  I had about a quarter of a cabbage head left that needed to be cooked.  Of course I insist on using all of my food, I hate waste. 

Curried Cabbage

  • 1/4 head of cabbage
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • Curry powder & Turmeric
  • Golden & Dark Raisins
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • Olive oil
  • 1 tbs. sesame oil
  • 1 tbs. soy sauce
  • 1 tbs. rice vinegar

Place a little olive oil in a pan.  Sauté the onions until translucent, add the cabbage & chicken broth.  Place a lid over the pan and cook until tender.  Mix the remaining ingredients in the pan, adding as mush of the seasonings as you would like.  Keep on the stove on low heat for a few minutes.  Enjoy!!

I had a stress out moment this afternoon which prompted me to want something comforting, a treat of sorts.  Today was a good day to have a rest day.  I was able to come home and cook dinner.  We ate earlier tonight, which gave me the opportunity to get photos while it was daylight.  Usually it is dark when we eat.  But most importantly this gives me the opportunity to enjoy some wonderful banana soft serve later!!

frozen banana

That is absolutely one of my favorite desserts!  I love to mix in some peanut butter and chocolate chips with it as well 🙂

Going to go enjoy some more magazine reading, have a great night!!

Leave a comment

Filed under DINNER

Leave a Reply

