German + chocolate =

Let me start by saying I love my kiddos!  Really I do!  However, why must one assume that because of my unconditional love for him, it is a-okay to wake me up at 3:00 a.m. just to tell me he went to the bathroom?  I mean really is that necessary?  Well to my 4-year-old it obviously is!

That’s right around 3:00 this morn he came into our room because he had to pee.  Now let me just inform you that he must walk past his own bathroom (which has a night light), go across our living area, and into my bedroom to wake up his dad.  He needed his dad to turn the bathroom light on (in our bathroom) for him so he could “potty”.  Being the great dad that he is, he obliged. 

At this point I am still sleeping.  Next thing I know I have a kid shaking me awake!  I sat up asked what was wrong and he says “I went to the bathroom mommy”!  You gotta love kids 🙂

On a happier note,  breakfast was sensational this morn!!  Of course I had to drag my butt out of bed to make it after my lovely interruption!  I decided to take the German route this morning.  As in German Chocolate Pancakes!!  Now these really didn’t come from Germany, they were introduced by a lady in Dallas, TX.  Why do I know that?   Because I am a foodie and I Google all the time!

P1000306

German Chocolate Pancakes

  • 1/3 cup oatmeal
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tbs. flaxseed
  • 1 tbs. wheat germ
  • 1 tsp. cocoa powder (or more if you want)
  • drizzle of coconut extract
  • shredded coconut
  • pecan pieces
  • 1/2 cup egg whites

Mix all ingredients together, let it sit on the counter for about 5-10 minutes, cook in a pan as you would a pancake.  Remember to watch these carefully as they do not bubble like your basic pancake. 

Now I topped my pancakes with coconut butter and pecan nut butter smeared on top.  For those of you that do not have coconut & pecan butter, I have in the past taken cocoa, peanut butter, mix in some shredded coconut and pecan pieces with a little milk to thin out and pour over pancakes.

P1000308

I had a reader comment on my iced pumpkin spice latte from the other day inquiring if it could be made as a hot latte.  Well that put me in the mood for a latte.  Of course it can be made into a hot latte with a little adjustment.  I mixed one together before heading out this morn!

P1000315

  • hot coffee (a mug)
  • warm almond milk
  • 2-3 tbs. pumpkin
  • shake of pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend well!  Sprinkle cinnamon on top 🙂

This morning was my scheduled visit for my home bound baby.  I knew I would be driving during my morning snack time so I grabbed a Helen Naturally Bar 🙂  I am addicted to these things!

 P1000317

Work has been quiet today, my partner in crime is out 😦  Lunch was pretty simple.  I had a little chicken and okra left over from last night.  I had a craving for fruit this morn so I grabbed some on my way out to make a fruit salad with.  The mix included apple, satsuma, and banana.  I also had a small blueberry muffin on the side.  It was a nice satisfying lunch!

P1000320P1000318 P1000242

I have one of my Larabar’s from my sample pack for snack this afternoon, along with a tiny little pancake left over from this morn.  Of course the Larabar is the coconut cream pie flavor!

P1000321

A great menu is planned for tonight….one that I am sure the hubster is going to love!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

