A little Spice in my Life :)

I was so anticipating some nice cool weather this morning.  You see I was told yesterday that we have a cool front coming down from the North (thanks Canada) and the temps would be getting into the 40’s.  Imagine my surprise when I dressed this morning in long sleeves only to walk out the door to…….the 60’s!!  What?  What happened to the lovely cool front?

According to the weather man we should be getting the nice cool air sometime during the night.  The front is moving down towards us now.  So hopefully long sleeves will be a requirement in the morn.  Now some of you may wonder why I am so excited about this!  Let me tell you – I live in Louisiana!  What does that mean?  Summer temps above 100, very dry & humid, and we only have cool weather maybe 3-4 months out of the year!  So we tend to get pretty excited when winter rolls around 🙂

DSCN1682

Now let’s talk about snow!  You see we do not see much of that here.  I can only remember maybe 3-4 times in my life growing up did we get what we call snow.  This is usually just a light dusting on the ground, if it sticks at all, which could probably be compared to the Northern states frost..haha!  Well two years ago we had “big snow”!  Yep, six whole inches at my house.  We absolutely loved it!  Okay well the hubster didn’t but I think that is mainly because he was stuck on the intestate for a couple hours trying to get home 😦

DSCN1679

That is a gorgeous picture to me!  I actually had it printed out and it is hanging in my house.  This is my backyard on that lovely morning.  I could do a whole blog of photos from that lovely December day!  I will not bore you with that.  Instead let’s get on to breakfast 🙂

P1000327

My loaded Thanksgiving Bowl, with a few modifications this time.  I added in some coconut butter on top and used cashew butter as opposed to peanut butter.  This was such a wonderful tasty treat!  Coffee was our usual dark roast so I didn’t photograph it this morn. 

P1000332

This was a bowl of my usual pumpkin oats!  The oats included cranberries, raisins, shredded coconut, coconut butter, and cashew butter as toppings.  That is why I call it my Thanksgiving bowl 🙂

Work was very hectic today!  I had a team meeting concerning one of my students first thing this morning.  So many crazy issues with middle school population.  Add on top of that disturbances and special education issues = One difficult case!  So the majority of my day was spent in a debate over the best direction to take, working on re-evaluation paperwork, and planning for more meetings tomorrow!  I want to scream at times.

Because of my hectic day I was late eating my morning snack (applesauce w/ granola) and I was rushed with lunch (left from last night) so no pics of either 😦

But my afternoon snack was yummo!  A cashew butter & banana sandwich on Great Harvest honey wheat bread 🙂 I devoured this!!

P1000337 P1000341

I was in the mood for a little spice in my life tonight!  So I decided that a little Mexican flavor was in order.  Now this is not your typical Mexican fare but I love it, and in anticipation to cold temps tomorrow I knew it would make a great lunch 🙂

P1000345

Taco Soup!  This is an easy, quick soup to make.  It is very filling!  My kiddos even love it; however, if you are cooking for the kiddos you will have to adjust the spices.  The hubster and I like to have a little spice in our food, hey we are from Louisisana!!  The boys, not so much!  I usually add the chipotle chili seasoning in at the end as not to be too spicy for them.

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 large clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 can rotel tomatoes
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 can pinto beans (can use black beans) drained & rinsed
  • 1 tbs. spoon cumin
  • 1 tbs. paprika
  • 1 tbs. chili powder
  • 1 tbs. Mrs. Dash southwest seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. chipotle chili seasoning
  • 2 cups water
  1. Brown the ground meat in a pot with the onion, garlic, and bell pepper.  Stir to break apart the meat.
  2. Add the corn, rotel, and beans to the pot, stir well.
  3. Add in the seasonings & water.

If you are serving children scoop out some of the soup and place in a small sauce pan to heat on low.  Add the chipotle chili to the bigger pot for the adults.  If you do not like spicy food you can always omit this and use mild rotel.  Serve with corn chips or tortilla chips 🙂

P1000344

Top with any toppings that you chose!  I did not have many since this was a last minute decision; however, I usually have the following: green onions, olives, avocado, cilantro, sour cream, salsa, & cheese.  Pretty much anything that you would put on a taco!

P1000346

I also had some baked sweet potatoes with honey mustard sauce & a sprinkle of cinnamon…yummo!  Very simple to make.  Dice potatoes and toss with a little olive oil in a pan, roast on 400.  Mix together honey & dijon mustard (amounts will vary depending on how many potatoes you have).  I used 3 small sweet potatoes, 2 tbs. honey, 2 tbs. Dijon, & a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Pour the honey mustard over the potatoes and place back in the oven for just a minute.  Enjoy!!

P1000347

I can’t wait to have this for lunch tomorrow.  The perfect soup for a chilly day!

What is your favorite soup?

3 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

3 responses to “A little Spice in my Life :)

  1. lynn

    right now my favorite soup is this awesome curried pumpkin soup I make… putting on another big pot tomorrow and can’t wait… made some pumpkin scones to go with it! yummy too!

  2. Dana

    I hear you about cooler temperatures. I live in Florida and it was 90 yesterday and Humid. Going to be a chilly 78 today.
    Soup: Rosemary Split Pea Soup
    I also have a recipe for a butternut squash soup I want to try
    Saturday will be beef stew (recipe from Oxygen Magazine).
    Throwing it in the crock pot so it will be ready after we go watch PUMPKIN CHUNKING. Yes a medieval catapult will launch pumpkins great distances. Boys can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

