Just Breathe

What a day!!  I have been non-stop since breakfast this morning.  Speaking of breakfast, I have to restock my pumpkin.  I am down to one can!!  That is just unacceptable!  I didn’t open my last can this morn, I opted for something a little different 🙂

Strawberries & Cream Oats!

P1000348

This was a good oatmeal.  I wish I would have had some fresh strawberries to use and slice on top.  I had to use frozen strawberries.  Of course this is mainly due to the fact that I had a bag in the freezer that needed to be finished off. 

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 2 tbs. ground flaxseed
  • 2 tbs. wheat germ
  • 1/4 cup sliced strawberries
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 tbs. warm almond milk
  • raisins, almonds, peanut butter – your choice of toppings!

Combine milk, water, bananas, strawberries in a pan and heat on the stove.  Add oats & flaxseed.  Whisk to make the mixture creamy.  Add the wheat germ & vanilla extract towards the end of cooking.  Combine protein powder with a little warmed almond milk to make the “cream”  pour this over the oats. 

  P1000353  P1000355

Of course I have to have toppings on my oatmeal.  I would have loved fresh sliced strawberries but I had to work with what I had  😦  In the mix – cranberries (infused with blueberry juice – awesome!), sliced almonds, and a blob of peanut butter.

Unfortunately I do not have any pics of my foods from the cooler today 😦  You see, I was so busy at work that I basically ate everything on the go, while working at my desk, and just didn’t think to stop for pics!  Today’s cooler contained:  Helen Naturally Bar, taco soup, sweet potatoes, a few corn chips, apple, dark chocolate peanut butter, and a few Crunchmaster Crackers. 

The Crunchmaster crackers are so awesome.  They are a nice crunchy healthy snack!  I highly recommend them to all 🙂  Just to give you a hint as to how my day went….I ate a piece of milk chocolate today for the first time in months!  I know me the clean eater eating a tiny piece of Hershey’s.  I tried to find some good dark chocolate but no one at work had any 😦  Guess I am the only one that like the stuff!

P1000360P1000361

Score!  Yummy homemade apple butter (unsweetened)!  I had to pick up milk and bananas this afternoon since we were completely out of both, so I decided to do my weekend produce stand run.  I was totally excited to find this!  All of the grocery stores that have this in my area only stock the sweetened, unclean, high fructose kind.  The produce stand that we have in town makes a lot of jams, jellies, preserves, etc.  I am hoping to see more “unsweetened” items!

P1000362

Check out the new towels I picked up as well!  I am currently in the process of changing the decor in my kitchen.  Of course I love the Fleur De Lis so that is my new kitchen decor.  I have to go back and get more of these soon 🙂  

Dinner was wonderful tonight!  I have my first 5K tomorrow morning, slightly nervous here, so I went with good ol’ pasta!  I knew I would need some good carbs tonight for in the morn, or at least that what I have been told.  I am really nervous about the race.  I haven’t been running (or as I say jogging cuz I’m slow) very long at all.  I know that I will be fine but still nervous!

The hubster and I were able to enjoy our meal on the back patio this evening.  I was so nice to sit outside and enjoy a meal.  All to soon it will be dark to early for us to enjoy the patio 😦

P1000365P1000366

We had Shrimp Creole Pasta!  It was spicy and delish 🙂  A small salad and a piece of Great Harvest Tuscan Swirl bread on the side!  This was a superb dinner.

  P1000369P1000367

P1000370  

I will probably have a half slice of Ezekial bread with some of my yummy apple butter on it before I go to bed tonight.  I hope that I will be able to get some rest. 

Have you ever ran in a race?  What do you fuel with?

Leave a comment

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

