A Day of Leftovers….

I actually enjoyed this Monday!  I know that sounds so unlike me, it is still crazy busy with two IEP/Re-eval meetings, therapy, paperwork, etc.; however, I am off tomorrow 🙂  Yep, the school system is giving us the day as a “holiday” since it is Election Day!! 

Breakfast this morning was inspired by yesterday’s treat.  Apple fritter oatmeal 🙂

 P1000460

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup almond milk, & 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 banana diced
  • 2 tbs. flax seed
  • 2 tbs. wheat germ
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 2 tbs. unsweetened apple butter
  • apple pie spice
  • raisins, granola, peanut butter, honey

Mix the first 3 together, whisk.  Stir in wheat germ, flaxseed, and vanilla protein powder towards end.  Stir in apple butter & pie spice.  Top with choice of toppings, drizzle with honey, & Enjoy 🙂

P1000458

Today’s cooler included:  Leftovers!  I love leftovers.  The best part of spending an entire day in the kitchen is that I have a lot of food cooked to last me through out the work week.  Between leftovers and my crock pot, life is easy-breezy 🙂

  • morning snack:  Latte & Biscotti (latte was coffee, almond milk, and 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder)
  • lunch:  Turnips & greens with slice left over pizza, and one of my apple fritter donuts.
  • afternoon snack:  yogurt with protein powder & granola (another donut an hour before boot camp class – yeah they’re addictive)

Our Sped Rep had her baby shower over the weekend and she came in with a box of goodies this morning.  Those of you that are familiar with me know that I do not use white sugar.  It is part of my clean eating mantra!  However, I do occasionally have a little treat if I feel the need.  Well, I did enjoy one of her lovely little cup cakes this morn!  It was sugar free, she has gestational diabetes 😦  However, that means it was made with splenda (which I do not use either), but I decided that if Jamie Eason (and many other bodybuilder/fitness models) consumes the stuff then it is the less of the two evils.  Who can tell a pregnant woman “ No I will not eat one of your baby shower cup cakes”!?

P1000461

Dinner tonight was some of that delicious gumbo I cooked yesterday.  Seriously, you guys have got to try this one!!  If you haven’t had true Cajun gumbo then you are in for a treat 🙂  I also plan to enjoy another 2 minute pumpkin pie, thanks Allie!

P1000431 P1000453

Tomorrow the  boys and I will be spending some more time in the kitchen.  Hopefully I will have some yummy recipes to share.  It is time to figure out our holiday treats and how best to “clean them up”!

What are your favorite holiday treats?  How do you clean up some of you favorite foods?

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, lunch, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

