Soup & Salad

I love lazy mornings.  It gives me the opportunity to cook my “real” oats as opposed to the quick cook kind.  I much prefer my regular oats.  I use the quick cook ones during the week due to time constraints since I have to work.  This is the type of sacrifices you make when you have children and you are a working mom!!

OMG!  Breakfast this morning was superb, yummo, delish, nom-nom, and any other word you would want to use to describe it!  After reading about egg whites in oatmeal on Heather’s blog last night, I decided to give it a try this morning!  It was awesome 🙂  I am so excited about this.  I usually use protein powder in my oats in order to get my protein in the morn, now I have a new way…Thanks Heather!!

P1000464 P1000465

The egg whites made the oats so creamy and delish 🙂  In the mix:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1 tbs. flaxseed
  • 1 tbs. wheat germ
  • 3 tbs. pumpkin
  • dash vanilla extract
  • sprinkle of salt
  • 1 egg white

Combine the water, milk, salt and banana in the sauce pan and heat.  Add in the oats, reduce heat to low and cook according to package directions.  Whisk to break up the banana.  Add the wheat germ and flaxseed in the mix.  Whip the egg white until frothy and slowly add to the oats.  Stir in the pumpkin and vanilla extract at the end of cooking.  Enjoy!

P1000466

I decided to make a parfait out of this mornings oats.  The layers are: creamy oats, cranberries, creamy oats, coconut butter with granola, creamy oats, apple pieces, creamy oats, topped with apple pieces and a blob of peanut butter.  The coconut butter in the middle was awesome.  It was like a nice little treat!  I think I will place the peanut butter in the middle next time 🙂

P1000467

How do you like my spoon?  It is hilarious to wake up in the morning only to discover that every single small spoon you have is in the dish washer, which wasn’t turned on the night before, and you have to resort to one of the few “baby” spoons you still have lying around in your silverware drawer 🙂

Some of you may remember that I mentioned yesterday that our school district was given the day off for election day.  This was primarily due to the fact that several of our schools are locations for voting machines.  What does one do on a “free” day off?  None other than “play” in the rain! 

That’s right, it has been one wet day here in my hometown.  Literally!  I woke up to rain this morning and it didn’t subside until around 3:00 this afternoon!  I am not going to complain since we really do need some rain right now. 

P1000474

The boys and I went to check out a little shop in a nearby town that I heard about at work.  I was excited to hear about the whole health market; however, the shop carries more supplements than food 😦  I did pick up some Earth Balance (which my local grocer stopped carrying) and some of the Bob’s Red Mill veggie soup mix.  Afterwards we decided to stop by Books-A-Million & Target….um what?  Are we crazy to be out in the rain?

P1000369

I enjoyed some of that yummy Creole pasta I had leftover in the fridge.  It was still yummy & spicy!  I also enjoyed some yogurt for a snack this afternoon.

P1000473

Dinner tonight was one of my favorite combinations.  Since I had the day off, I decided to cook up a pot of veggie soup.  I tossed in some chopped onion, celery, carrots, and a can of fire roasted tomatoes in the pot.  I also cooked the soup mix in half chicken broth, half water for added flavor. 

P1000471P1000472

I had a nice salad on the side!  A mixture of romaine and spinach topped with roasted turnip, beet, sweet potato, and shrimp.  Drizzled with some home made honey mustard dressing!! 

P1000486P1000489

Once dinner was on the stove I went to work making one of the boys’ favorite treats – Chocolate Chunk Cookies!

  • 1 cup Turbinado sugar
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 & 1/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup 60% dark chocolate chunks (large chips)

Preheat oven to 350.  Cream the butter, sugar, and eggs together.  Add the flour, baking soda, and salt until combined.  Fold in the chocolate chunks.  Bake until desired doneness.  We like our cookies really soft and chewy.  Bake according to your preference.

The original recipe calls for 3/4 cup each of white sugar & brown sugar (I decreased to 1 cup natural) and for the entire 2 & 1/4 cups of flour to be all purpose flour.  I also roll my dough out into logs and place in the refrigerator to firm up before cooking.  This is a personal preference and is not a required step.

P1000480

One of my favorite treats – Orange Cranberry Muffins.  I use fresh cranberries in this recipe.  I am not a fan of sweet muffins for breakfast; therefore, this is not a sweet muffin.  I like to have this muffin for breakfast with a jam or preserves to add sweetness.

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup oat flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran 
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tbs. orange zest
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup cranberries, sliced in half

Preheat oven to 350.  Place a shallow baking dish filled with water on the top rack of the oven.  This helps to make the muffins moist. 

Mix the dry ingredients in one bowl.  Place the wet ingredients in mixing bowl and whisk.  Make a well in the dry ingredients, pour in the wet ingredients and combine.  Fold in the cranberries.  Bake until nice and golden. 

P1000483

A nice smear of Earth Balance!  You can always add more sweetness to them by using more honey/sugar.  I also use a combination of flours and wheat bran in this recipe.  The original recipe only uses whole wheat and all purpose, I however had a little oat flour that needed to be used.  I also add the wheat bran for added nutrition.  Feel free to use whatever type of flour you like, just make sure it totals 2 cups!

How do you spend a “free” rainy day?

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, lunch

One response to “Soup & Salad

  1. I love how you made your oats into a parfait – so pretty! Glad the egg white oats turned out tasty for you too 🙂

    You’ve been a baking machine, looks great!

Leave a Reply

