The Mystery Box

One more day down, one more to go!  I can’t wait until this weekend 🙂  I am still trying to decide where I want to eat for my b-day Saturday…..so hard to decided! 

Tonight’s dinner was superb, I must say so myself.  I placed a roast in the slow cooker this morning.  Nothing like coming home to the smell of your dinner already cooked 🙂

P1000551 

With a side of smothered turnips and potatoes, collard greens, and chili corn bread!  It was a delish, comforting, warm meal.  The best part – leftovers!  Enough for lunch tomorrow and some for the weekend.  I am seeing roast beef po-boys in the near future 🙂

P1000554

This is the cornbread that I make to serve under a big spoon of chili (hence the name chili corn bread).  It is really good with the chili.  The hubster insists on some type of bread with his meal (yeah he will eat sandwich bread if he has to!), and since I have chili in the plans later in the weekend I decided to “kill two birds with one stone”.

  • 3/4 cup corn meal
  • 3/4 cup flour of your choice
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2-3 tbs. of sweetener (I use honey, can use sugar-agave-etc.)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 can rotel tomatoes, drained
  • 1 can of corn, drained
  • 1 tbs. chili powder

Put all ingredients into a bowl and mix well.  Pour into a baking dish that has been sprayed with non-stick spray.  I use an iron skillet to bake my corn bread in.  Bake on 425 for about 20 minutes.

__________________

I LOVE sweets!  I do.  I must confess.  It is one of the hardest things for me to have to deal with being a clean eater.  Of course I wasn’t always a clean eater so my sweet tooth was developed many years ago. 

My boys love them as well.  They are junk food junkies…..they get it honest!  Of course I love wholesome foods just as much and fruit is right up there on my favorite snacks list, but you know nothing beats a good treat! 

P1000502

Remember that big white box that was pictured on my blog last night?  Did you try and guess what was inside? 

What is in the mystery box?

Okay I will tell you, it’s not exactly a b-day present; however, considering that it arrived a few days before my b-day we will call it that!

P1000505

A box packed full of treats!!  The boys were as excited about this box as I was 🙂  Sally over at Newman’s Own Organics sent me this selection of their products for my family and I to review!  I can’t decide what to open first!

P1000506

The box consisted of a variety of cookies, soy crisps, pretzels, cranberries & prunes (yummo!-I love prunes), mints, and even some doggie treats.  I will be reviewing the items over the course of the next several days. 

I couldn’t wait to try the Fig Newmans or the Ginger O’s ( I love ginger!)….I just can’t decide!

P1000545

Kohl decided to open the  chocolate Newman O’s 🙂  Noah wanted to open the chocolate chip cookies.  They are begging for a glass of milk with some cookies.  So funny!  So we opened the the two that they picked out.

P1000546P1000547

Noah and Kohl are fans – Noah said he likes them better than Oreos 🙂 

P1000510

The hubster decided on the salt & pepper pretzels.  He really liked them!  So far all that we have tried are winners 🙂  I can’t wait to dig into some more yummy treats tomorrow 🙂 

P1000520

He has requested these for game days!  I really enjoyed the chocolate Newman O’s.  They are better (in our opinion) than oreos.  I feel so happy that my boys are enjoying them.  It makes me feel mush better to know that they are beginning to ask for snacks that are made with organic ingredients. 

Three items down, a dozen more to go……lol!  I will try some different items tomorrow.  I monitor my sugar intake very carefully and usually enjoy sweet treats only once or twice a week.  Boy it is going to be hard not to chow down!  For those of you that have tried any of the items before I would love to hear from you, give me your opinions on them.  For now I have two very happy little boys 🙂

P1000543

2 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Mystery Box

  1. Syndie

    Yum!! What a great box to receive. I hope you have a fantastic birthday and dinner!!!

  2. Dana Slyh

    Have a very Happy Birthday. All the best to you !

Leave a Reply

