A Chill Is In The Air

It was so nice to wake up to cold weather this morn!  I absolutely love it when the weather is cooler.  I am not a fan of extremely cold weather, but give me what we have now and I am a happy girl 🙂

I so wish I could take my runs in the morning to enjoy the temps.  I would have to start at 4:00 in the morn just to have time to do it.  Considering that I do not get into bed until 9:30-10:00, I absolutely refuse to give up my sleep.  I must have 7 hours to be happy!

P1000557

Breakfast this morning was an  interesting combination.  I woke up to discover that the hubster didn’t turn the dishwasher on last night before coming to bed, which means my oatmeal pot was in there 😦  I couldn’t justify using a BIG pot for a single serving, so pancakes it was!

Now for the interesting part – Gingerbread or Pumpkin Spice?  So I did both!  I made gingerbread oatmeal pancakes with dark chocolate chips and topped them with “pumpkin pie” 🙂  I also had a banana that really needed to be used up this morn so I threw that in both mixtures as well.

P1000559

Gingerbread Oat Pancakes

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tbs each of flaxseed and wheat germ
  • dash of vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. each of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, molasses
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tbs. dark chocolate chips

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, let it sit for about 10 minutes.  Spray a griddle with non-stick spray and cook like a pancake.

Pumpkin Pie Topping

  • 3 tbs. pumpkin
  • 1 tbs. maple syrup
  • pumpkin pie spice

Combine all ingredients together and heat in the microwave.  Top pancakes with mixture.

Note:  I put the other 1/2 of the banana mashed into the topping since it needed to be used.  I normally do not put this into my pumpkin pie mix.  It did change the flavor of the topping a little.  I wouldn’t suggest using this again; therefore, I only posted my original topping recipe.

P1000559

Just look at those chocolate chips!

This was like a burst of flavors in my mouth.  Two of my seasonal favorites put together!

Once at school today I decided that I wish I had taken the day off.  Why? Because tomorrow is my B-day, and I always take the day for that.  Since it was on the weekend this year I didn’t request it.  But to be honest, while walking into the main hall around 9:00 this morn I was thinking this is the perfect running weather!  How funny is that!  A girl that didn’t even think of running a few months ago now wishes she wasn’t at work so she could go for a run!!

P1000565

Instead I enjoyed a nice mocha latte smoothie for snack, with an orange-cranberry muffin!

P1000566

These are birthday cards that some of the band students gave me this morn.  My office is in the back corner of the band room, literally!  So I know all of the band students.

P1000567

I didn’t have left overs for today so lunch today was an old favorite- peanut butter & “jelly” sandwich!  The “jelly” is actually unsweetened apple butter 🙂 Oh how I love my peanut and apple butters!

P1000572

A side of Newman’s Own Organics Honey Wheat Pretzels – these are delish!  I am really enjoying all of the snacks that were sent in the package 🙂 

P1000568

A few slices of apple left from yesterday made it into the lunch today as well.

P1000571

Look at that prune!  It is one of the prunes that I received in the package from Newman’s Organics!  It was so good, melted in my mouth 🙂

I decided to skip the gym today.  I probably really needed to go considering all the noshing I will be doing this weekend!  I had a hair appointment, I wanted to get the house cleaned up (so I do not have to do it tomorrow), and bake my cake!P1000575

A few more samples before going to the salon…OMG, OMG, OMG – the hermits are amazing.  They are like a cross between a really soft cookie and a “cake”!  I absolutely loved them, of course they have molasses in them and I love anything with molasses.  This was one of the regular, I can’t wait to try the ginger flavor 🙂  The fig newman was delish as well.  I enjoyed both of these little treats!

P1000577

Look what I came home to  tonight!  I am a lucky woman 🙂  The hubster had the first fire of the season rolling tonight!

P1000578 

Dinner tonight was left over roast beef with greens and the last of the veggie soup for myself!  I needed something quick and easy since I was baking this evening.  The hubster enjoyed BBQ beef sandwiches!

I am still trying to decide where to eat tomorrow night.  Choices, choices, choices!  Be back tomorrow with b-day festivities to report 🙂 

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, lunch, Uncategorized

One response to “A Chill Is In The Air

  1. Nice roasty fire 🙂 I miss that from when I lived at my parents house.

Leave a Reply

