Crockpot Chili

I ❤ my Crockpot!  I do, I mean LOVE!  I don’t know what I would do without it.  Or for that fact, what did people do before it was invented?  Oh wait yeah that was back when “mommies” still stayed at home…lol!

I had a great sleep last night after our celebration 🙂  That is until the hubster woke me up this morn, ugh.  Rolled over and clock said 6:30…I am usually up at this time so I decided to roll on out of bed. 

P1000624P1000625

While sipping on some coffee in my new beautiful kitchen mugs and my new warm slippers,  it hit me…..time change!  I could have slept for an extra hour!  It was 5:30 on a Sunday and I am drinking coffee 😦

Oh well, caffeine already in the system…

P1000628

I decided on a lighter breakfast this morning due to my over indulgence in birthday foods yesterday, as well as what is planned for later today.  Toasted cinnaraisin Ezekial bread with peanut butter, sliced banana, and scoop of diced mango!  It was a nice breakfast but I did miss my oats!

P1000629

After clearing out some of my cabinets (old dishes gotta go) I tackled some laundry that was piling up.  Geez does laundry ever get completely “caught up”?  I then decided to get a start on dinner.  By that I mean pulling the Crockpot down out of the cabinet, lol!

Now do not start fussing at me for digging that thing out on a Sunday.  I promise I had a great excuse to cook dinner in the Crockpot today!

P1000653

My afternoon consisted of a little of this……

P1000632

And a little of this…….

P1000637

And even some of this!

P1000651

My adorable nephew had his 1st birthday party today!  He will be one on Tuesday 🙂  He missed Titi’s b-day by 3 days. 

Isn’t that the cutest little country boy ever!

P1000678

Yes that is a real gun!  He was given a shotgun by one of his grandfather’s…it is a family heirloom so that is why the “first grandson” has it!  

P1000671

My brother (proud papa)-his b-day is on the 14th!

P1000672

and my sister, she has a birthday on the 15th!  Wow, three kids with November b-days – what were my parents thinking!

P1000668  

Baylor had a duckie b –day (just in case you couldn’t tell)!  The decorations were so adorable, and the party activities were a hit with the kiddos 🙂

P1000638 P1000632

Duck-Duck-Goose, pick up the ducks, and a coloring station that was complete with color sheets with the birthday boy’s picture on them!  So creative 🙂

P1000669

We had to “de-head” the duck to cut the cake…it was a rice krispy treat!

P1000643

A small bowl of jambalaya and slice of bread.

P1000663

The lovely family!  Mom & Dad – my two nieces – the birthday boy! 

P1000656P1000664

P1000666P1000676   

I told you I had a great excuse for breaking out that crockpot.  We didn’t make it home until 5:00 this evening.  It was so nice to have dinner waiting for us when we arrived.  I packed some jambalaya for the hubster’s lunch tomorrow, which means that we will have chili for dinner tomorrow night as well!  Yay dinner is already prepared!

P1000693

Crockpot Chili

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 can fire roasted tomatoes
  • 1 can chili beans
  • 1 packet chili seasoning
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 2 8 oz. cans tomato sauce
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tbs. paprika & cumin
  1. Add the diced onion, minced garlic, and ground turkey to a pan that has been heated over medium-high heat.  Cook until the meat is no longer pink.
  2. Add the 2 cans of tomato sauce with the seasonings.  I like a lot of chili seasoning in my chili.  I really do not measure it.  I add it in and taste until I like the flavor.
  3. Combine the meat mixture and all other ingredients into your crock pot.  Set it on low and let it cook away!

I usually add a little more chili powder to my recipes since I like lots of chili flavoring.  If you need to add more feel free!  Top with cheese and enjoy with crackers 🙂

P1000694

I have to say that I so need to really cleanse my body of the carbs and sugar from the weekend birthday celebrations.  I see lot’s of fruits, veggies, and water in my cooler this week 🙂  However, it was so nice to “cut loose” and enjoy the festivities this weekend. 

Do you enjoy birthday celebrations or do you stick to your nutritional diet no matter what?

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, CrOcKpOt, DINNER, lunch

2 responses to “Crockpot Chili

  1. LOVE crockpot chili – and your new slippers. I have the same ones! Target? ❤

  2. Syndie

    I am so glad to see that you had a great birthday weekend!! I haven’t seen you on since. Are you ok?

Leave a Reply

