A Day On The Farm

This was actually last night’s post that I worked on in Scribefire.  For some reason it did not post. 

It is so nice to have a day off!  I am preparing for my lovely vacation break next week.  You know a test run, hey you wouldn’t buy a car without a test drive, right?  So why have a break from work with out a “test break”?? 


 

Look at what I had waiting for me when I arrived home Sunday night!  I didn’t open them until Monday afternoon since we were late getting home and I had to unpack, wash, take a bath, etc. 

Terri Jo over at Amazing Grass was so generous as to send me some of their products to try out!  I am super excited, I love to try new things 🙂  I will be packing some of the items for today’s journey!

I started off my morning with a lovely bowl of oats.  I decided to try a little something new this morning.  You see I was attempting to make a chocolate “pudding” with silken tofu Sunday afternoon (epic fail).  It tastes great just not “pudding consistency”!  So I placed it in the fridge and decided to use it to mix in with my smoothies.  Perfect protein 🙂

 

The oasts started off with the same as usual, but instead of just almond milk I added in the silken tofu mixture with my water.  I also omitted the banana since the tofu has a little chocolate and honey in it.  It was okay but not as sweet as I thought it would be.  I then topped it with some coconut butter and cranberries.  No peanut butter this morning – that is coming a little later. 

I started the day off with a trip to Target to make a purchase……

 

Yes, I did need these today even with all the glorious sun!  You see it rained all day yesterday – I mean all day! 

 

My next stop was for an iced English toffee coffee with soy…

 

To go along with my whole energy food bar from amazing grass.  I loved the bar.  It was made with lots of healthy organic ingredients, not to sweet, and was just the right thing for a morning snack!!

 

I spent the day with my son on a field trip 🙂  We visited a farm today!  I grew up in prime dairy country, and I have said before that my parents always had a garden 🙂  My son however did not have the same experience. 

 

So what did we learn about today?

 

  • Dairy vs. Beef Cattle
  • Pigs
  • Horses
  • Chickens
  • Sheep
  • Honey Bees
  • Cotton

 

The farmer talked to the kids about the names used for the animals depending on if the animal is a baby, female, male, how to care for them, interesting facts about the animals, etc.  It was a very informative field trip, a wonderful learning experience!
 
 
 

 

 

The teachers had to kiss a pig!!

 
The students were allowed to pick cotton

It was a great trip~!

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

One response to “A Day On The Farm

  1. Pingback: 7 | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

