Wonderful World of Cabbage

Today was such a hard day.  What challenges did I face?  Waking up at 5:30 a.m. for the first time in two weeks, sitting at a desk doing paperwork all day, coming home and having to straighten the house, cook dinner, and do a load of laundry all in the matter of a couple of hours as opposed to an entire day.  Oh yeah and make it to the gym!

Needless to say I am pooped, yep completely, totally pooped 😦  I really have to get back into the swing of things!

I did have a little ray of sunshine in my day….

blog photos 291

My wonderful friends at Larabar sent me a package 🙂  I have a lovely little bag of their newest flavor, blueberry muffin.  This is one of the best Larabars I have eaten.  I ranks right up there with the pecan pie one!  I was really excited about this one.  I have had several in the past that I didn’t particularly care, but I was very satisfied with this one 🙂

blog photos 292

I like being friends with the folks at Larabar!!

Onto the star of the day…..Cabbage!

You know you love it!  I had a really big cabbage that I purchased the other day so I am slowly working on using it up.  I am glad to get several meals out of one cabbage 🙂

I totally love stuffed cabbage leaves.  I mean really love them.  I however do not like the process it takes to make a big dish of stuffed cabbage.  So what is the next best thing? 

blog photos 295

Stuffed cabbage in a casserole.  That is right…an all time favorite made easier, quicker, and just as yummy 🙂  Now it is not as pretty but it sure tastes good!

blog photos 293

You will need to use your judgment in making this dish.  As stated below I used venison, which we have in 1 & 1/2 lb. packs.  I didn’t use the entire mixture due to the amount.  I have it placed in the fridge for later use.  Also, my cabbage was huge; therefore, I only used part of it.

  • 1 lb ground meat (I used venison)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • 1 bag of Success Brown Rice, cooked
  • salt, pepper, extra spicy Mrs. Dash
  • basil, oregano
  • shredded cabbage, steamed
  • Parm & bread crumbs

Place the ground meat, onion, garlic, and spices in a pan and cook until brown.  Drain and rinse if needed.  Add the rice and crushed tomatoes to the meat.  Add the herbs.  Adjust seasonings as needed.

In a large bowl combine the meat mixture with the steamed cabbage.  Place in a casserole dish and bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  Top with parm & bread crumbs and bake another 5 minutes.

blog photos 294

I made some homemade corn muffins as well as purple hull peas to go with dinner.  It was fabulous!  You could easily substitute tofu for the ground meat or leave it out all together to make this dish vegetarian. 

This is so much easier than stuffing and rolling cabbage leaves but has the same taste.  I hope you enjoy 🙂 

*Disclaimer:  The views posted on this blog are my opinions.  I am not being compensated in any form to express my views on the products that I include on this blog. 

Leave a comment

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

