Fresh is Best!

UGH…..yep those are my words every morning.  Ugh….I need more sleep.  Ugh….my mouth tastes nasty (sorry but we all know it’s true).  Ugh…these darned rubber bands on these braces are aggravating…..on and on and on.  I could list a million but I will not grace bore you with my lovely morning personality!

So what was different about this morning?  I still needed more sleep (or so I thought), I still had a nasty taste in my mouth (thank goodness someone thought of brushing many years ago), and I still wanted to scream because I have these darned rubber bands.  This morning was different because it started off with a little freshness 🙂

How is that you say?  Let me back up by several hours and explain!

blog photos 301blog photos 299

blog photos 300blog photos 303  

Okay so now your mouth is crying because it feels neglected watering, right?  Yep, I made a little trip to the produce stand yesterday.  I tell you I am obsessed in love with that place:)  The trip was a success: strawberries, tangelos, tangerines, qumquats, cherries, lemons, limes, bananas, apples, cucumbers, tomatoes, and romaine hearts.

blog photos 302

You see that lovely label.  This farm is within several miles from my house.  That’s right!  I live in the middle of strawberry land, and it is getting closer to having an abundance of these available.  They will be everywhere – grocery stores, produce stands, road side stands, heck we even have a bus driver at our school that has a farm! 🙂 

You see Ponchatoula, LA strawberries are the best!  We even have a festival every April to celebrate this wonderful fruit.  There is nothing like a nice ripe, sweet, juicy strawberry from Ponchatoula area farms 🙂

blog photos 296

Except for maybe this!  Lovely oatmeal pancakes topped with a little peanut butter (hey every pancake deserves some type of butter right?), sliced fresh strawberries, sliced bananas, and a drizzle of pure maple syrup!

blog photos 297

OH what a morning!  So this made my day a little brighter 🙂

blog photos 298

My  morning snack was just as yummy.  A nice cup of Greek yogurt mixed with vanilla protein powder, cinnamon, and cherries, with a tangerine on the side. 

I carried over the theme of “freshness” into lunch and afternoon snack as well.

blog photos 304

A nice bottle of cucumber water to go with my lunch:)

blog photos 305

A lovely Creamsicle smoothie – recipe courtesy of Angela at Oh She Glows – that lady knows how to whip up a treat!  I halved the recipe since I only needed one smoothie for me, used frozen tangerine slices since I do not have clementines, and I added vanilla protein powder to the mix so I would have my protein in with my carbs.  This is one of the best smoothies ever:)

  • 1/2 ripe banana, sliced & frozen
  • 1/4 small avocado, frozen
  • 1-2 tangerines peeled, segmented, & frozen
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/4 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 date, pitted and chopped
  • 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.   You may add more milk if needed to thin out a little.

So the theme for my day was fresh fruit!  Do you ever have days that have a certain food group show up repeatedly?

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, lunch

One response to “Fresh is Best!

  1. Oooh – so jealous of all that beautiful fresh fruit! We have no where near that selection in winter 😦 I do love fresh strawberries when they’re in season, though.

Leave a Reply

