A Great Start

Close your eyes.  Seriously, close your eyes.  Okay wait a minute – don’t close your eyes.  Read this then close your eyes!  Let me take you on a sensory journey….

It is quiet, peaceful.  The only light at the moment is the sun streaming through the open blinds of the window.  The wonderful aroma of freshly brewed coffee is floating in the air.  A beautiful bowl is sitting in front of me full of creamy, luscious, oatmeal topped with fresh sliced strawberries.  Suddenly as I slowly enjoy the first lovely bite I get a hint of chocolate, and wait…what is that?   A lovely hint of coffee, in my oats?   Yep – oatmeal a-la-mocha style!!

blog photos 312

Mocha Oats

  • 1/2 cup freshly brewed coffee
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 small sliced banana
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 tbs. flax seed
  • 1 tbs. cocoa
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • vanilla extract
  • cinnamon
  • 1 tbs. wheat germ
  • sliced strawberries

Combine the first four ingredients in a small saucepan.  Whisk the mixture occasionally as you bring it to a slight simmer.  Add your oats and flax.  Whisk until desired doneness.  Add in the cocoa powder, vanilla extract, protein powder, wheat germ, and some cinnamon and mix well.  Pour into a bowl and serve with sliced strawberries and additional sprinkle of cinnamon if desired.

blog photos 313 blog photos 314

This was the perfect breakfast!  I had such a lovely morning to myself enjoying my breakfast.  I do have a lovely recipe to share with you guys from earlier but tis not quite ready yet.  Don’t worry, I will be back later….stay tuned!

Now to go make a nice hot cup of tea to soothe my throat.  Don’t worry, I am not sick.  I am however watching my beloved Saints play today’s game.  It is a nail biter…..I am finding myself screaming way too much.  I have actually been working on trying to get this post together for the last hour but find myself constantly stopping to pay attention to the game.   

Okay I am off to enjoy some lemon tea and the game.  If anyone hears really loud screaming and crying just call the medics! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast

Leave a Reply

