Warning: blogger may combust at any moment.

I had a lot of time on my hands today.  Of course I did utilize some of this time to spend all of the hubster’s hard earned money shopping complete such tasks as laundry, house cleaning, reading, and errands.  I am sure he will be glad that I was joking since he doesn’t agree with my desire of adding to the shoe/purse addiction collection weekly.  Even still I had completed all of the above chores within the first half of the day 🙂

What is one to do with that much time?  Why figure out how to clean up some old favorite recipes of course!  Today’s adventures led me to the development of two new recipes.  Okay really just one since the second one doesn’t really have any measurements to it – I just sort of threw it together to my taste preferences. 

*Keep in mind that these are recipes that I have “cleaned” up as opposed to “invented” on my own.  I am in no way trying to take credit for developing what I am about to share with you, I just made some adjustments to older recipes that I have used for years to make cleaner eats*

blog photos 319

blog photos 321

Dinner was fabulous!  Taco soup with cottage cheese stirred in, and a nice big salad with my very own “homemade ranch dressing”.

blog photos 322

Now the dressing doesn’t exactly taste like ranch – it more or less just resembles it – but I am planning to work on this in the upcoming week.  I vow to you that I will make a ranch dressing that is clean.  I am not posting the recipe yet since I need to tweak it a bit, but also because I didn’t measure out the ingredients to give you a precise recipe.  As stated above I will be coming up with a recipe within the week 🙂

OH my beloved Saints!  I was so ready for the game to begin today.  You see it is kind of boring around my house.  The hubster is at the hunting camp, the kids are only interested in their games/toys, and I basically just really needed some excitement in my life.  Boy did I get excitement….

I screamed at the t.v. the entire game!  I will probably pay for that dearly tomorrow.  I tried to compose myself, tried drinking warm tea, I even tried blogging and reading.  Did any of that work or help?  NOPE!  Guess what…..they didn’t win 😦

So now I am sad, depressed, frustrated, angry, in love {Shockey 🙂 }, and just completely bummed out at the moment.  I mean really – I have to wait until next season to see Shockey and Brees play again??  I really need something comforting, sweet, and indulgent!

After my beloved Saints gave away lost tonight’s game, I reached for dessert…..

blog photos 323

Cinnamon Pumpkin Custard

  • 1 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 whole egg + 1 egg white
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. allspice
  • 1 – 12oz. can fat free evaporated milk

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. 

In a medium bowl combine the pumpkin, eggs, honey, cinnamon, and allspice.  Stir in the evaporated milk & pour into a 9 inch pie dish or quiche dish. 

Bake in the oven for 45 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving. 

When serving top with your choice of toppings.

blog photos 325blog photos 326

Now what is a girl to do when she doesn’t have any clean whipped topping to go on top of her custard?  DUH – make a peanut butter topping, garnish with walnuts, and fresh cherries (just because they looked so yummy in the fridge)!

blog photos 327

  • spoon of peanut butter
  • coconut milk to thin it out
  • walnuts

Such a comforting dessert.  I really must tell you that I am just so depressed about the holidays being past us that I had to make pumpkin custard to help me feel better.  Okay that is not entirely true.  I mean I am depressed, but that is because of the situation with the Saints.  I mean really when will one of those guys realize he needs to marry me.  So what if I am already married, can’t I have two husbands?

No the truth is that earlier today – you know during the whole chores/cleaning portion of the day – I realized that I still have a couple of cans of Libby’s pumpkin in the pantry.  So I decided to have a little fun in the kitchen.  It was so simple and tasty.  You must make this.  Now.  Go now and make this custard!  You will not be disappointed.

I am going to go drown myself in my sorrows now.  No, I am not going to go reach into the liquor cabinet!  I am going to go immerse myself into a big, hot bubble bath, and try to forget how horrible I feel after tonight’s game.  I am going to start reading The Myrtles Plantation tonight…maybe I will spook myself! 

1 Comment

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

One response to “Warning: blogger may combust at any moment.

  1. Taco soup with cottage cheese? Pumpkin Custard?!
    I need to try those… ASAP!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

