It’s A Fruit Filled Day!

Thank goodness bloggers do not have to talk!  I may not have much of a voice today after last night’s game, but I can still type.  Actually the voice isn’t so bad, but being the Speech-Language Pathologist that I am, I know that after a screaming match like that I need vocal rest.  Now if only I could get my boys to understand that……

Today was just as exciting as yesterday.  Which means it’s not!  It is cold here and rainy 😦  I can handle cold.  I can handle rain.  I can not handle cold and rain.  Yes, I know I am a wimp!

blog photos 318

It’s a good thing the hubster did this before he disappeared left to go to the camp 🙂

The good news is that the rain has given me the opportunity to spend a little more time playing around with some recipes.  The star of the kitchen today….FRUIT 🙂  I mean really who doesn’t love fruit??

blog photos 329

We started our morning off with a lovely serving of fruit.  Super protein pancakes with blackberry topping.  Nom nom nom 🙂

blog photos 330

Pancakes:

  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 2 tbs. flax seed
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 tbs. vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg, pinch of cloves
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk

Combine your dry ingredients in a bowl.  Mix you wet ingredients together in a separate bowl.  Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and add the wet.  Mix well.  Pre-heat your pan or griddle and cook the pancakes until browned on each side.

Blackberry Topping

  • 1 cup blackberries (I used frozen ones)
  • 2 tbs. honey
  • 1 small cinnamon stick
  • 1 tbs. corn starch
  • 1 tbs. water

Place all items in a small saucepan and bring slowly to a simmer.  Turn on low and simmer for 20 minutes.  Mix together the corn starch and the water, pour over into fruit mixture.  Be sure to stir as the fruit mixture will thicken quickly.  Remove from heat and enjoy!!

blog photos 331

I also topped my pancakes with a little “yogurt cream” I had in left over in the fridge.  It is simply Greek Yogurt mixed with maple syrup. 

Of course breakfast didn’t take me long to cook or eat for that matter.  Hey trust me, you’ve never seen me eat.  I know I am suppose to take my time and chew slowly, but seriously habits are hard to break.  Especially when you work in the public school system with only 30 minutes allowed for lunch and you have to “scarf” it down to finish in time.  Needless to say this makes it hard to control how quickly I eat at home as well. 

Moving on to the next task at hand.  I need to finish using that can of pumpkin that I opened last night.  I seriously thought about making a loaf of gingerbread and using the pumpkin in it as opposed to the applesauce, but hey I am not in a loaf kind of mood!  So what kind of mood am I in?

blog photos 336

I am in a pumpkiny, figgy, muffiny kind of mood!  Okay I know I am making up words here, but hey everyone has their own little dialect (trust me I am an SLP) 🙂  I had a handful of dried figs left over from the holidays as well that were just begging (can figs beg?) to be used.  I knew they would be a perfect combo with my pumpkin.

blog photos 337

Pumpkin – Fig Muffins

  •     1 cup oats
  • 1 cup pumpkin (may use applesauce)
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk or milk of choice
  • 1 whole egg & 1 egg white, lightly beaten
  • 1 tbs. canola oil or oil of choice
  • 2 tbs. ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp. cloves
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 oat flour
  • 3/4 cup chopped dried figs or fruit of choice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Prepare muffin tin by spraying with non-stick spray

Combine oatmeal, pumpkin, milk, eggs, flax and oil in a medium bowl.  Combine the dry ingredients in a separate bowl.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients in.  Stir until all ingredients are combined.  Batter will be thick.

Fill the muffin cups 2/3 full.  Bake for 20 minutes & cool on a wire rack.

blog photos 339

I enjoyed one of these babies with a little slather (yes it’s a word – I am in the south) of apple butter, and a nice steaming cup of coffee for my afternoon snack.  It was delicious.  Of course the most exciting part is that I have a healthy, sugar-free muffin to pack for my snacks this week 🙂  I know they would be superb with a drizzle of honey…hmm…may have to remember that for tomorrow!

I am off to finish cooking dinner.  Unfortunately it doesn’t contain fruit.  It will be a huge pot of hot vegetable & venison sausage soup!!  Maybe I will have some cherries on the side to carry over today’s theme.

Now to leave you all with a little photo show.  Guess mommies clean eating and exercising habits are rubbing off on my little man 🙂

blog photos 332 blog photos 333 blog photos 334

blog photos 335 blog photos 340

blog photos 341 blog photos 342

blog photos 343

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

One response to “It’s A Fruit Filled Day!

  1. Pingback: Old Favs | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

