Old Favs

It seems that the themes of my week are not accomplishing what I need to at work, and reuniting with some old favorite eats of mine.  Let’s look at the first one shall we!

As if working at a middle school isn’t challenging enough what did else did they throw in the deal??  Being an itinerant SLP which requires me to service our local Headstart program as well as homebound students for the area.  Now what does this mean for me?  First it means my job is never boring!  That is a plus.  It means I am never in one place for an entire day which can be a good thing, but it also means a very hectic schedule , having to learn a variety of procedures (they are different for every age), and always feeling like you will never catch up on paperwork.  Then of course you throw in a day like today – I have to take off of work for a very necessary Dr’s appt.  Which will only put me even further behind on that darn paperwork!

Put kids, a husband, a house, gym, and me on top of all that and what do you get?  One very busy, hectic schedule!  So it is no wonder that with work being chaotic at the moment, such a busy schedule, and the cold weather blues, I find myself longing for my comfort foods. 

The old me would cherish this time.  I would relish in all the wonderful foods and probably put on the “winter 10” as I like to call it.  The new me – the clean eating me – well we know that many of those old comfort foods just don’t cut it anymore!  still you long for the comfort.  So what is a girl to do?  Play around with your recipes to clean them up and/or find new comfort foods.

I use to love visiting my local Target to stock up on some of those food items.  One of my favorites for breakfast was their Archer’s Farm brand of oatmeal.  Now I do have to give the company credit for trying to make things healthier, using some organic ingredients, and making sure their products have good nutrients; however, I no longer enjoy that lovely bowl of cherry almond oatmeal due to the sugar it contains. 

blog photos 347

Until I made my own cherry almond oatmeal with no added sugar, loaded with protein, and super delish.  Life as I know it has officially changed…oh yes and it’s for the good 🙂

blog photos 349

blog photos 348

Cherry Almond Oats

  • 1/3 cup each water and milk
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 tbs. flax seed
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder
  • dash salt
  • vanilla extract
  • pitted, chopped cherries
  • sliced almonds
  • sprinkle of cinnamon

Heat the milk, water, banana, and cottage cheese in a small pan.  Add the oats and flax, whisk constantly to whip the banana into the mixture.  Add a dash of salt, vanilla extract, and protein powder to the oats and mix well.  Mix in chopped cherries and sliced almonds.  Pour into a bowl and top with more cherries, almonds, and sprinkle with some cinnamon.

blog photos 350

Now we all know that we have a soft spot in our hearts for the classic PB& J!  I mean really, who doesn’t love a pb&J sammy?  I know that I for one have been addicted to the things since childhood.  Unfortunately most of your jellies on the market are loaded with sugars, corn syrups, and all sorts of crazy things.  Well make your own “jelly” with stewed fruit!  I made this lovely blackberry topping over the weekend for our pancakes.  Of course I always make extra when I cook, so we have some in a jar in the fridge.  It is fabulous to use for a pb&J 🙂 

Follow the link above to the recipe, and remember that you can use any type of berry or fruit you chose; however, if you use apples, peaches, pears, or any fruit for that matter just remember to dice it into chunks.  Spread the fruit and peanut butter on  your choice of bread (I used a sandwich thin) and enjoy.

blog photos 351

Now that is comfort 🙂 

blog photos 352

I have always had a soft spot in my heart for fruit.  You know you do too!  I will always pile it on my plate at parties and celebrations, of course along with some fruit dip.  Okay so in comes clean eating and out goes fruit dip 😦  Unless you make some that is clean!  I love to have fruit and dip for snack 🙂

blog photos 353

Fruit Dip

  • Greek yogurt
  • honey
  • cinnamon

That’s it.  It is that simple!!  Mix together and dip away 🙂  You may add anything to this that you would like, although I do suggest sticking with the honey as the sweetener as opposed to maple syrup.  For some reason it just taste more like basic fruit dip.  I like to add in  different extracts, shredded coconut and/or chopped nuts occasionally. 

So there you have it.  A few of my favorites nicely cleaned up.  Now go make yourself a snack.  I am off to Baton Rouge to visit with my poor brother.  He had a major surgery on his leg yesterday (3rd one), and I need to go give him some sister love.  Please keep us in your prayers. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, lunch, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

