Things You Do For Your Kids

What a day!  For some reason I have been non-stop all day today.  I wonder why that is?  Maybe because I have angered the school fairies – let’s hope not.  Or maybe my principal felt like I needed some exercise – of the brain that is – but I get that daily no matter where I am.  Could be that I have angered everyone I work with and it was my pay back – I pray that never happens.    It must be because I didn’t work yesterday, yep I bet that is it!! 

When you work in special education missing a day is the equivalent of missing a week!  No seriously it is.  I hate having to miss work.  Would you guys please remind me of that in say March when we have no breaks, and I take off a couple of days just because? 

So what is the last thing that you would want to do after a very busy day at work and a workout at the gym?  Um that would be spending a little more than an hour in the kitchen cooking dinner.  I mean seriously you want what?

blog photos 357

Who can say no to those beautiful puppy dog eyes?  Not me!!  So here we go, Noah’s favorite dish-Italian Spaghetti & Meatballs 🙂

blog photos 354

Meatballs

  • 1/2 small onion diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lb. ground meat
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tbs. Italian seasoning
  • 1 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1 tbs. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/8 cup bulgur wheat

Mix all ingredients in a bowl.  Roll the meat mixture into meatballs of desired size.  Cook the meatballs in a skillet until browned on each side.  Do not worry about cooking to doneness.  The meatballs will finish cooking in the sauce.

Italian Marinara Sauce

  • 1/2 small onion diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbs. olive oil
  • 1 –28oz. can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 –8oz. cans tomato sauce
  • 1 tbs. each basil, oregano, & parsley
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tbs. maple syrup

In a large pot heat the olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the onion and cook until tender.  Place the garlic into the pan and cook a minute longer.  Be sure not to burn the garlic.  Place the remaining ingredients into the pot and mix together well.  Once the sauce is simmering add the meatballs into the pot.  Turn the sauce on low heat and simmer for 30-45 minutes.  Serve over whole wheat pasta (or pasta of your choice).

It is very important to add in the maple syrup to your sauce.  True Italian sauce is actually a sweet sauce.  Their pizza sauce is also sweet as well.  I have tried this recipe with honey, which doesn’t give it the right taste.  Of course you can use sugar if you choose.  The sauce should have a very slight hint of sweet.  It is not meant to taste really sweet, but instead to help cut the acidity of the tomatoes.

blog photos 356

Of course true to my own personal roots I had to throw some boiled eggs over into the pot.  Some people think that this is strange; however, many Italians add eggs, meatballs, Italian sausage, potatoes, and some even chunks beef into their pots of sauce.  Had I not married my husband I myself would have never thought of adding other meats and potatoes to a sauce. 

The sauce freezes very well for any extras that are left.  This recipe will make a large portion of sauce.  Just let the sauce cool down and place in bowl/bag to go into the freezer.  You will have a delicious meal available at a later date.  You will only have to cook more pasta to go with the sauce.

As I stated above this is my oldest son’s favorite meal.  No matter how he feels I can always get him to eat a hearty bowl of homemade spaghetti.  Make this dish for your family and watch it quickly disappear.  It is a healthy, home cooked meal that is sure to please anyone.  Enjoy 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Things You Do For Your Kids

  1. This looks so good!! I think I’m going to try it tomorrow night for dinner 🙂 I’ll let you know how it turns out. I’m super lazy when it comes to spaghetti so I usually cook the meat then add in the sauce 😀 hehe the college student method.

Leave a Reply

