ALL.ER.GEEZ

One may feel that it is a great start to a Sunday morning to roll over in your nice warm bed, notice that it is 8:00 a.m., and you have just awaken on your own without an alarm clock blaring in you ear.  Any other Sunday morning I may agree with you; however, not today!

There is nothing worse than waking up with that “I could sleep all day” feeling because you were forced had to take allergy meds the night before.  I blame it on the hubster Benedryl!

Yes, the attack of the allergies came last night!  I knew that if I wanted to get any rest I would need some meds (I hate meds!), so I tore apart the bathroom cabinet only to discover that the only thing I had was Benedryl.  This means that I will feel “sleepy” for the majority of today.  It also means that I can’t take any meds this morning unless I really do want to sleep all day….hhmmmm…not a bad idea! 

blog photos

Why did I spend 2 grand on this darned Rainbow vac only to still have to fight off allergies.  I mean really, their whole sales pitch revolved around how great it is for people with allergies, and how it would help you be “allergy free” in  your home!  Okay, okay that is not the only reason I made the purchase, and I also realize that the poor little  very expensive vac can’t fix outdoor allergies 😦

So I rolled my butt out of bed to tackle the coffee put – where is the hubster when I need him?  Oh yeah, hunting!  He better come home with something since I have to take care of everything while sick – who am I kidding – even when he is home I have to take care of everything when I am sick!

With a cup of coffee in front of me, it was time to tackle breakfast.  On a normal day that would be simple since I usually eat oats, but it is the weekend which means pancake/waffle time.  I always look forward to my weekend breakfasts, but this morning I really just wanted to snuggle back under the covers – two little boy had a different idea!

blog photos 394

Banana-Almond Butter Stuffed Waffles with Strawberry Topping (serves 2)

  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1 tbs. honey
  • 1/4. tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbs flaxseed
  • dash of salt
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 egg

Place all ingredients into a bowl and mix well.  Preheat waffle maker and cook until nice and brown.  Smear half of the waffle with almond butter.  Slice the other 1/2 of the banana and place on the waffle.  Fold the waffles over to make a “sandwich”  top with topping of choice.

  • sliced strawberries (fresh or frozen)
  • tbs. water
  • tbs honey
  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • 1 tsp water

Place the strawberry slices in a small pan pot with the tbs of water and honey.  Simmer for 15 minutes.  Mix the corn starch and tsp water together and add to the strawberry mixture to thicken.  Pour on top of waffle.

blog photos 395

blog photos 396

Chocolate Chip Waffle

  • 1/2 of the waffle mixture from above
  • chocolate chips

Cook until nice and brown.  Add syrup or topping of choice.  This is Noah’s go to weekend breakfast.  He loves his chocolate chip pancakes/waffles.  Of course he insisted on a picture of his for the blog 🙂  

blog photos 393 

I mixed together my fruit dip and had some sliced apples on the side.  They were left over from Kohl’s snack last night.  I hate waste.  Of course he decided to come in the kitchen and take them (as well as the dip) away from me! 

I am determined to get my run in today, maybe it will help me feel a little more energized.  I think today would be a good day for an orange cream green monster!  A little vitamin c + spinach is sure to help the symptoms of ALL.ER.GEEZ 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

2 responses to “ALL.ER.GEEZ

  1. Sorry your allergies are bothering you 😦 Though I don’t suffer from terrible allergies (just the “usual” runny nose and watery eyes from pollen and such) I hate that feeling of lethargy.
    Your waffles look soo delicious, though. I’m all about that fresh strawberry topping!!

Leave a Reply

