Surf & Turf

I need to go surfing.  Seriously!  I wouldn’t have a need to breathe considering that I would spend the majority of my time in the water.  Take that you darned stuffy nose!

I have been filling up on some good nutrients to try and get past the lovely symptoms of allergies.  I know, I know as long as whatever has given me the “attack” is around, I will stay this way – but hey a girl can dream can’t she.  Know what is that darn pesky thing that has me stuffy, sneezing, and intoxicated?  I mean really it is just a bit much when you drive for you jog and realized that if you came across a road block they could possibly get you on DUI = Benedryl!

But whatever, no road block so I am still here at home 🙂

blog photos 398  

Lunch was a bowl of leftovers.  Quinoa, corn, black beans, sautéed spinach, grilled tofu, and a heaping spoon of salsa.  That is the last of my salsa 😦

As mentioned earlier, I did make it to my jog today, a nice 2 miles with an additional 2 miles at a walk.  It was good but not my best =  Benedryl!  After my workout I made one of Angela’s Orange Creamsicle Smoothies.  I needed the vitamin c that is fo sho.

In keeping with the whole concept of nutritious foods we added spinach to tonight’s dinner as well.  I am still trying to blackmail convince the hubster that I need a maid/cook.  I mean if he is going to decide on a whim to show up at lunch time instead of night time shouldn’t he at least cook dinner?  That’s right, he came home earlier.  Which means…..I have to cook dinner!

Without enough leftovers in the fridge to feed us all, I had to dig out some meat.  I am perfectly fine with a big jass salad, the hubster, sure as long as some meat is on top!  Thus Surf & Turf night 🙂

blog photos 399

Some nice venison steaks grilled pan fried to perfection, potatoes, pasta, and cabbage slaw.  Sounds like a winner to me!  The steaks are actually a venison backstrap that has been cut into thick steaks similar to a filet mignon. 

I allowed the steaks to marinate in the fridge for several hours today.  I removed them from the fridge and left them on the counter for about 30-45 minutes before cooking.  It is better to cook the meat closer to room temp as opposed to cold from the fridge.  Then you can grill or pan fry to desired doneness.

Steak Marinade

  • 1 clove garlic minced
  • 2 tsp thyme
  • 1 tsp. dried mustard
  • 3 tbs. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup steak sauce
  • 2 tbs. olive oil
  • 1/8 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2 tbs. steak seasoning

Place all ingredients in a bag and shake to mix.  Place steaks in the bag with the marinade a place in fridge to marinate.  Remove from fridge before cooking.

blog photos 402

Garlicky Lobster Pasta

  • 2 tbs. olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • pinch red pepper flakes
  • spaghettis pasta, cooked
  • lobster tail chunks (cooked)
  • spinach

Place the olive oil in a saute pan over medium-high heat.  Once heated add the garlic and pepper flakes, cook until fragrant.  This will only take about 30 seconds.  Once you smell the garlic toss in the remaining ingredients until heated through and spinach wilts.  Remove from heat. 

I had about 1/2 of a box of cooked spaghetti pasta leftover in the fridge.  If you are cooking a full box of past you will use more oil, garlic, and pepper flakes.  You can also replace the lobster with shrimp, chicken, or tofu.  Just make sure that whatever you chose is cooked before you add it to the pan.

blog photos 400

Honey-Mustard Cabbage Slaw

  • handful of shredded cabbage
  • sliced tomatoes
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 tbs. dijon mustard
  • 2 tbs. honey
  • 1 tbs. olive oil

Place the cabbage, raisins, & tomatoes in a large bowl.  Mix the mustard, honey, and oil in a small bowl until well blended.  Pour the dressing over the cabbage and toss to coat.  Top with sunflower seeds.

This is such a great side dish and much healthier than your basic coleslaw.  The hubster likes this better than the mayo/sugar slaw that you usually get in restaurants.  Of course you can add red onion and shredded carrots as well – unfortunately I was out of both. 

Now I am off to drink my 10th 3rd cup of tea, pray for my nose spray to “pop up”, and read a book for about five minutes before I fall asleep….note to self you can’t sleep when you can’t breathe – find nasal spray stat!

3 Comments

Filed under lunch, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Surf & Turf

  1. Lobster pasta? Oh yes! That sounds fabulous although I’m guessing you can probably get fresher lobster there than I can in Colorado.

  2. LOBSTER! I love 🙂 My mom has a similar lobster recipe except it’s Chinese. I think she also uses different noodles. If you’ve ever been to a Chinese restaurant it’s the garlic lobster noodles. It’s a must try. One of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

