chicken soup for the allergy soul

After such a fitful night of rest, I awoke this morning with only one thing on my mind.  DUST!  Yes, that’s right, dust.  You see the allergies are driving me insane.  I was on a mission to rid my home of any and all dust in hopes that it would help.  So out comes the rainbow, ready to tackle furniture, ceiling fans, shelves, blinds, heck even the top of the fridge.  IT. DIDN’T.HELP 😦

Which tells me that I am suffering from an “attack” caused by outdoor allergens.  Which knowing my luck will turn into an URI.  I mean really, did I have to get sick now!

But before I begin my quest to clean I need breakfast.  Let’s make it a good one since today is a holiday and I am at home 🙂

blog photos 403

Banana Oats (with the works)

  • 1/3 c almond milk
  • 1/3 c water
  • 2 T. cottage cheese
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1/3 c oats
  • 2 T flaxseed
  • 1 T vanilla protein powder
  • vanilla extract
  • dash of salt

Place the milk, water, cottage cheese, banana, and salt in a pot and bring to a slight boil.  Add in oats, flax, protein powder and whisk until cooked to desired consistency.  Add in vanilla extract and serve.

Now for the good part – toppings.  Like I said we are celebrating a “free” day off of school.  Happy Martin Luther King Jr. Day!  So we pulled out all the goodies – peanut butter, almond butter “syrup” (mix a little milk in and heat), coconut butter, the second 1/2 of the banana, and last but so not least chocolate chips!

Now most people would savor the chocolate chips in this meal and save as much of them for last as possible.  Me, I savor the peanut butter 🙂

After cleaning the house I have to admit that I was a little energized and in the mood to get things done.  I also decided that I needed to give good consideration to dinner tonight since I have the entire day at home.

blog photos 406

Organizing was in order.  This is one of several binders that I have collected over the years of recipes (mainly from food network) that really needed to be purged and organized.  Of course now you can keep your recipes in your own little “recipe box” on the website.  So I took on the daunting task of going through the binder, saving all of my favorites to my box, weeding out the ones I printed but never tried (and probably never will), and separating the ones that are from other sources that I use frequently and need to keep.  Needless to say this has taken up a lot of time today, and I am nowhere close to being finished!

Where is all of that paper going?  Okay do not get to upset and start fussing.  It is being recycled I promise.  Come on I am not some crazy, heartless person that only cares about herself and nothing else.  Of course the hubster will try to argue that point, but I promise I’m not.  I have a lovely “to be recycled” pile going on here.

Of course all of this work was making me hungry, which reminded me I was suppose to spend time on a nice meal for tonight.  I give to you……

blog photos 418

Chicken Noodle Soup (for the allergy soul)

  • 2 chicken breast
  • 7-8 cups chicken broth, divided
  • thyme, salt, pepper
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 small onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 T flour (whole wheat)
  • 1 C frozen green peas
  • 2 C whole wheat egg noodles
  1. Season the chicken breast with thyme, salt, and pepper. 
  2. Place in a large pot and add four cups chicken broth to the pot.  Bring to a boil and simmer until cooked through.  Remove chicken breast (set aside) and reserve broth. 
  3. Heat two tablespoons of olive oil in the pot and add onions.  Saute until translucent, add garlic and saute a minute more.  Stir in the tablespoon of flour and cook a minute longer. 
  4. Slowly pour the chicken broth back into the pot while whisking the mixture.  Add the remaining chicken broth and green peas to the pot.  
  5. Shred the chicken with a fork and place back in the pot with the egg noodles.  Simmer until noodles are cooked through.  Serve and enjoy!

blog photos 407blog photos 408

Now one must have something to go along with such a wonderful bowl of chicken noodle soup.  So today was a nice experiment day for me.  To serves along side my soup is a wonderful loaf of wheat bread!

Wheat Bread

  • 1 & 1/4 C Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 & 1/4 C unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 t sea salt
  • 2 & 1/4 t active dry yeast
  • 1 cup very warm water
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 egg
  1. Proof the yeast.  In a small bowl or mug mix 1/4 cup of very warm water with 1 t honey.  Stir in the active dry yeast and let dissolve.  Let it sit for about 10 minutes.  You will know the yeast is active when it is foamy and smells like bread.
  2. Mix 1& 1/4 C whole wheat flour, 1 T & 2t. honey, salt, and yeast mixture for about 10 seconds.  Add the remaining warm water, the olive oil, and the egg and mix until smooth.  Slowly add in the remaining 1&1/4 C of unbleached all purpose flour.
  3. Cover the mixture and let it rise for about 1 hour.  After an hour punch down the dough and roll out onto a floured surface to need.  I had to add a little extra flour at this point because the dough was slightly sticky.  I used whole wheat flour to knead the bread. 
  4. Knead your dough for about 5 minutes.  Place in a greased loaf pan and let it rise for about another 1&1/2 hours. 
  5. Preheat the oven to 375.  Place the bread in the oven and bake for approximately 30 minutes.  You will know the loaf is done when you thump it and it sounds hollow. 

blog photos 414

blog photos 415blog photos 416

This bread was delish.  I still have to work with it for the simple fact that the top of my loaf did sink slightly.  However, it was nice and soft, with a nice crust, and a wonderful taste.  I must admit that this was my first attempt at making a loaf of bread.  I didn’t have an exact recipe to follow since all the recipes I could find were for two or more loaves.  I only wanted one in case it flopped.  So I basically used a recipe for rolls and altered it a little for a loaf of bread.  I was pleased that it turned out so well.  I am hoping to experiment with breads more often in the near future.  Stay tuned for more recipes!!

Now of course the boys wanted to make something today since I was doing so much cooking in the kitchen this afternoon.  I was a little skeptical after their stint the other day….remember I was left to do all the baking by myself!

blog photos 404

Can someone please explain to Kohl that January is not the right time of year to wear his “monster” shirt!!

After much begging whining I caved.  I decided to be the greatest mom ever and make them more treats.  I did blackmail them insist that they help.

blog photos 409

blog photos 410blog photos 413

Mama Peas Cookie Dough Balls.  My. Kids. Are. In. Love.  As well as the hubster.  I think they may have a conspiracy plans to possibly trade me in for Mama Pea.  This lady is a genius, and she makes such wonderful treats.  You must try these.  Heck, you must try all of her treats…I know I am!  I am thinking I will add that to my goal list…try all of Mama Peas treats.

We made some with blue sugar, snicker doodle, chocolate chip, and Kohl insisted on his cupcake pebbles cereal.  I must admit that it is a close call between snicker doodle and chocolate chip as my fav 🙂

blog photos 411blog photos 412

Well now that I have some very happy kids, a happy hubster, and at the moment a clear nasal passage I am going to catch up on my blogs and my book.  I am currently reading a Nicholas Spark novel that was loaned to me by a teacher friend.  She loves Nicholas Spark so she made sure to bring the book to school to share with me.  She knows that I enjoy reading.  I must admit I usually do not read his books; however, it is a good story and a nice change from my usual.  Happy eating and reading 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DINNER, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

