Surprise

When I woke up this morning, I made a vow to myself that no matter what I had to deal with today (uhmm…..paperwork) I would be happy and thankful.  It is Friday 🙂

 blog photos 446

This breakfast was enough to make me happy 🙂

 blog photos 447

I tried a little trick that I have seen on several blogs over the past couple of days,  I added more liquid to the mix to make a more voluminous bowl of oats.  I was pleasantly surprised at how this turned out.  I have always thought that if you put too much liquid in the mix you would end up with “runny” oats.  So after reading about the extra addition of liquid on Heather & Ashley’s blogs, I had to try it for myself 🙂

In the bowl today:

  • 1 c water
  • 1/4 c coconut milk
  • 1 banana sliced
  • dash of vanilla
  • dash of salt
  • 1/3 c oats
  • 2 T flaxseed
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

I cooked the mix on the stove and topped with cinnamon apples, peanut butter, & coconut butter.

This kept me pleasantly full for the entire morning.  I made an orange smoothie for my morning snack, but I could have made it to lunch before eating.  I am in love! 🙂

Let’s compare shall we:

 blog photos 447blog photos 359

Yep,  more voluminous!  I surely have found a new way to cook my oats.  Thank you ladies for sharing your tricks 🙂

blog photos 449

This cute little box was waiting for me when I drove up after work today.  Kohl was super excited to see a package at the door.  We immediately opened it once inside.

blog photos 450

My lovely friends from Newman’s Own sent me  to try out.  I love this company.  It is nice to have a company that offers so many snacks that the boys can enjoy using organic, natural ingredients.  Kohl loved his afternoon snack.

blog photos 439blog photos 440 

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to really try the twists due to my braces but I did pinch off a little piece.  They are good!  The boys really liked them, as well as the hubster. 

blog photos 438

I do believe that the orange twists are the favorite in the house.  The hubster informed me that he really likes these, after all fruit twists are one of his favorite snacks.  He loves twizzlers, heath bars, and milk duds.  I guess for him it’s a good thing that I have braces.  The hubster is the main one who ate the twists….he can’t lie to me.  I caught him and I’ve got the picture to prove it 🙂

It is nice to get surprises on a Friday.  Now if only I could get the hubster to understand that!

Before I go I would like to share one of my favorite snacks with you.  I enjoyed this lovely snack last night, and I see another one in my future for tonight!

blog photos 443

Banana Soft Serve with Magic Shell 🙂

blog photos 441

Banana Soft Serve – place frozen, sliced bananas in the food processor and process until you get smooth & creamy soft serve.

Magic Shell – 1T melted coconut butter mixed with 1/4 t cocoa powder.  You may also add a little drizzle of honey for added sweetness if you would like.  Pour over the ice cream.  It will harden immediately from the coldness of the bananas, and it turns into “magic” shell topping!  Top with nuts if you desire and enjoy!

Happy Friday 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

One response to “Surprise

  1. I always do more liquid to get a “larger” bowl. Works every time. And has a better, creamier texture I think.

Leave a Reply

