Just call me butter

Timeline

3:00 a.m. –  Kohl wakes me up with a stuffy nose

4:00 a.m. – Kohl’s movements wake me up

4:30 a.m. – checked clock, can’t go back to sleep

5:00 a.m. – was snoozing, Kohl wakes me again

5:30 a.m. – can’t sleep

6:00 a.m. – crawl out of bed, stumble to the coffee pot

Dear mornings,

We are so over…..just saying.  As for you coffee pot, how you doing hot stuff!!

I have had one heck of a morning.  Just look at that time line.  I have enough points to chart out a graph if I get to feeling a little artsy later tonight.  Jeez, I need a nap.

I have a bad case of PMS (pissed at morning syndrome).  I have to own up to it, there’s no denying it.  My symptoms include irritability & lethargy missed in with spurts of hyperactivity & delirium.  That is definitely PMS.  This mornings case is severe.  I mean I broke of our relationship because the PMS is that bad!

blog photos 471

This was the first thing I did after ending our relationship.  I enjoyed the warmth from the fire place while sipping on a nice cup of coffee – that is my new love – I have been hanging with that guy off and on all day.  Hey give me a break I am on the rebound here.

Once I felt like I was nice and toasty, slightly awake from the coffee, and totally wondering what the heck I am going to do since it is Sunday, I decided to start on breakfast.  The boy’s made a request last night and while I wasn’t planning on breaking out the flour so early, I had plenty of time on my hands since the breakup.

blog photos 467  

Blueberry & Cinnamon Sweet Rolls

  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 6T plain yogurt
  • 1T apple butter
  • 2T almond milk
  • 1/2t lemon zest
  • 1t lemon juice
  • 1/2c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1/4t salt
  • honey
  • 1T cinnamon sugar
  • 1T melted butter, divided
  • blueberries
  • sugar glaze
  1. preheat oven to 375.  Line a pan with parchment paper.
  2. blend together the first six ingredients until smooth.
  3. sift the dry ingredients through the salt into a medium sized bowl.  pour in the wet ingredients and blend until dough forms.  Handle the dough as little as possible.  Using your hands pat up the lose flour in the bowl and place the dough all onto a very well floured surface. 
  4. dust some flour on top of the dough ball and dust your rolling pin.  roll the ball our into a rectangle.  trim the ends with a pizza cutter.
  5. using a pastry brush, brush the dough with 1T melted butter. 
  6. drizzle honey onto the dough.  sprinkle with cinnamon, and place blueberries on top.
  7. roll the dough as tightly as possible.  it may be sticky in some areas so take your time and roll carefully.  Once rolled slice into pieces with a knife and place on baking pan.
  8. bake in the oven for around 15 minutes.  drizzle with glaze and enjoy.

blog photos 470blog photos 472

I made half of the roll with blueberries and the other half with only cinnamon sugar for the boys.  This recipe is normally what I use to make homemade crescent rolls minus the sweet ingredients added to it.  I decided to adjust some of the ingredients and make cinnamon rolls (which was the request) since I didn’t want to take the time to do yeast rolls!  They turned out well but I like my yeast rolls better 🙂

blog photos 468

Made a nice lovely bowl of Blueberries & Cream Oats for myself.  I cut the oats to 1/4c since I was going to have sweet rolls to go along side of them. 

  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • 1/4 c almond milk
  • 1/2 c water
  • almond extract
  • dash of salt
  • dash of cinnamon
  • 1/4 c oats
  • 2T flaxseed
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder

I threw in about 1/4c blueberries towards the end of cooking.  Toppings this morning included coconut butter (which is getting low), cinnamon, more blueberries, and a drizzle of honey.  It was a great accompaniment to the sweet roll.

blog photos 469

blog photos 474

Still really early….I am the only one awake…let’s make graham crackers!  I used the same recipe as yesterday’s graham cracker crust with a few additions. 

  • 1.5c whole wheat flour
  • 1/3c honey
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1/2t cinnamon
  • 1/4t salt
  • 2T coconut oil
  • 2T molasses
  • 1t vanilla extract
  • 1/4c + 1T almond milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Line baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Mix together flour, honey, soda, cinnamon, and salt.  Make a well in the middle and pour in the oil, molasses, and vanilla.  Give the ingredients a quick whisk with a fork and then continue mixing until it is crumbly.
  3. Drizzle in the milk and mix until well combined, use your hands to form a ball.
  4. Place the dough on a surface covered with parchment paper and begin to mash down into the form of a rectangle.  Dust with some flour and begin rolling the dough out with a rolling pin until about 1/8 inch thick.  Take a pizza cutter and trim the sides.
  5. Cut into eight crackers.  Using a spatula very carefully transfer the crackers onto the baking sheet.  Gather up the remaining dough edges, shape into a ball, and roll out to form four more crackers.  You should have 12 total.
  6. Prick the crackers with a fork.  Place in the oven and bake for 12-14 minutes.  The longer you bake, the crispier the cracker.

blog photos 473

I can see some peanut butter crackers for snacks in my lunch bag this week, yummy 🙂

blog photos 476

Up next….Granola, Naturally!  I am totally in love with my granola.  There I admit it.  I haven’t found another recipe or a store bought version that I like better.  This is a good thing because I can make a large jar of this for super cheap.  Beware, it’s addictive!

blog photos 477

Moving on to some homemade “chunky” applesauce 🙂  I love homemade applesauce, which if made correctly can be a little time consuming.  So what does a busy mom like me do.  A “chunky” version of applesauce, which I enjoy more anyway 🙂 

It is really simple.  You grate the amount of apple that you want, in this case one large, and place it into a small sauce pan over medium heat with a little water & cinnamon.  I simmer this for about 30 minutes.  It makes a nice & quick applesauce.  You can add honey if you want it a little sweeter but I like it without.  I sometimes may add some raisins into the mix as well depending on how soon I am going to eat the sauce. 

blog photos 475

After rooting around in the fridge a little while, I discovered that the hubster still had some cookies left.  You know how it is, little sister is selling cookie dough for cheerleading so you must buy some.  I mush prefer to make homemade but it was for the hubster.  So I threw the last eight of those onto the pan and popped them into the oven.  He will be happy to have his mac nut cookies waiting for him when he gets home 🙂

blog photos 478

Last but not least, apple chips.  I sliced one apple really thin and sprinkled with cinnamon.  Hey don’t judge – I got a discount bag of apples from the produce stand so gotta use them up!  Place them in the oven at 200 degrees and bake until they are the desired crispness that you prefer.  I like mine to be crunchy like a chip so you have to leave them in the oven for around 3 hours.  If you prefer softer ones you can take them out sooner.  Of course if you have a dehydrator that may be an easier way.

All of this was done, cooled, and could be eaten (minus the apple chips) well before lunch time.  It was a very productive morning in the kitchen if I must say so myself.  Just call me butter, because I’m on a roll!

I think I will take some time to read and decide what I would like to have for dinner tonight.  The oven needs a nap anyway 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under baking, Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

One response to “Just call me butter

  1. wow you have awesome recipes! and tons of them in each post. love it!

    thanks for saying hi today 🙂

Leave a Reply

