Breakfasts, butters, and bowls

“B” stands for
Bronco, Benz, BMW, Bass,
Bangles and a pair of bars.
When you see us pullin up down the ave
you’ll act like we are stars.
We’re not tryin to make a joke,
We’re just tryin to make it known,
that people of the world
that we call B Girls
Like Bars on a Cadillac Brougham.

I do tend to get a little carried away at times!  For those of you that remember this (uhm late 80’s) song, I am glad I have such good company.  For those of you that are thinking I have totally lost my mind at this point – you’re right I have.  Being inside with two crazed sick kids will do that to you.  However, yes this was actually a rap song in the late 80’s that was performed by Young n da Restless – B Girls.  I have now admitted to my age, yikes!  No really I am only  25! 

Today was all about “B” for some odd reason.  Seriously, I didn’t plan this.  Okay maybe I did plan it to an extent but not entirely.  What I am trying to say is that it dawned on me when I sat down to write this post that all I had to show you today was about the three “B’s” listed above. 

Yes, I am a little bizarre funny at times.  Anyways, I was trying to think of a post title and a light bulb went off – all “B” words 🙂

“B” # 1 = Breakfasts:

This morning I was torn between two things I really wanted for breakfasts.  I was really craving a nice bowl of oats since I had pancakes yesterday.  I made a couple of new purchases yesterday while grocery shopping and both have me excited.  It was a tough decision – I went with this:

blog photos 495

I found this box of quick & easy steel cut oats in Wal Mart yesterday!  I was super excited to see this 🙂  You see I do not have a natural foods grocery store within a 2o-30 mile radius of my home.  I am stuck with shopping at basic grocery stores, and our stores do not carry much variety of healthy foods.  That is slowly changing, which excites me. 

I can find steel cut oats in one grocery store, but they cost almost 7$ for a box about the size of the Mcann’s.  Not worth the money to me.  I have had several people recommend the brand to me, but I was never able to find it in the town I live in.  Not to mention that quick & easy is great since I have three of us to get out the door in the mornings 🙂

Protein loaded Oats

  • 1/4 c almond milk
  • 3/4 c water
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • dash salt
  • 3T cottage cheese
  • cinnamon, vanilla extract
  • 1/4 c oats
  • 2T flaxseed

blog photos 494

Topped with crunchy peanut butter, coconut butter, and granola.  I love, love this oatmeal 🙂

blog photos 496

As lunch rolled around I started digging through the freezer to see what I had available.  The hubster took the leftovers from last nights dinner with him, leaving me leftover-less!     

blog photos 498

Hence another breakfast creation is born.  I had two pancakes left from yesterday’s breakfast so I heated them in a pan, spread some new spinach & artichoke hummus on them and sandwiched a fried egg between the two.  On the side I had a scoop of cottage cheese w/ honey & sliced kiwi, and a nice chai cappuccino 🙂

“B” # 2 – Butters:

I have mentioned in a few of my latest posts that I was running out of my Artisana coconut butter 😦 

This saddens me greatly.  Especially since I have already blown the monthly grocery budget three days into our month (I get paid on the 25 of every month) and I am not about to make that 30+ mile trip to Whole Foods to purchase a new jar.  What is a girl to do? 

blog photos 502

Make your own coconut butter.  I discovered a little gem of a store located a few miles from me in my tiny little town of Hammond.  I knew that this store was in it’s location; however,  it advertises to be a health store as far as supplementation and herbal remedies go.  I was ecstatic to find out that the owner does stock some a few food items!  I ran in to pay a visit leaving with unsweetened coconut & my breakfast plans for tomorrow morn 🙂

How do you make your own coconut butter?  Easy – place unsweetened coconut in your food processor then turn it on and process until creamy and smooth!

blog photos 503blog photos 504

Nice, drippy, yummy coconut butter – delish!

blog photos 491

Since I have the food processor out, I can’t stop there.  I had a lovely package of pecans in the pantry, I roasted them  up nicely in the oven, popped them in the processor, and pecan butter was born.

Pan roast some pecans in your oven and allow to cool.  Place the pecans into a food processor, turn it on, and process until smooth and creamy.

You can’t get more simple than that!

blog photos 493blog photos 492

This is my favorite nut butter and it’s nice & drippy too 🙂

I can taste this heavenly concoction on a lovely piece of Ezekial cinna-raisin bread – oh when will snack time be here?

“B” # 3 – Bowls:

I must admit that I spend a majority of my evening reading blogs.  That would probably be because I have so many that I love to read – it breaks my heart to think I have too many – is there such a thing?  No way!

blog photos 505

So after reading Mama Pea’s post last night I was inspired to make craving tonight’s dinner.  Burrito Bowls!!  Now we do have ground venison in our burrito bowls, but I have often made them without the meat for myself.  I also add in or substitute different ingredients for my bowls.

I picked up a box of quinoa at Wal Mart yesterday for less than 4$!  The cheapest I have ever found quinoa.  I am really excited to try this out – into the bowl it must go!  I told you I found several things yesterday that have me super excited 🙂

blog photos 506

In the mix:

  • Spinach
  • ground turkey taco meat
  • quinoa
  • fire roasted tomatoes
  • black beans
  • roasted red pepper
  • olives
  • tomatoes
  • carrots
  • bell pepper
  • cottage cheese
  • Greek yogurt
  • salsa

blog photos 507

With some lovely baked “tortilla chips” for dipping 🙂 

So there you have it – my 3 “B’s”!  But before I go I must show you this…

blog photos 499blog photos 500

Kohl had to throw the letter “C” into today’s mix.  He insisted that I bake his chocolate chip cookies.  I was given a package of the Pillsbury Simply chocolate chip cookies the other day.  I usually do not make cookies from a pre-packaged mix/refrigerated dough.  Since they were given to us, we baked them up.  I have to admit I was really impressed with the ingredients on these cookies.  Still not a great as homemade to me but much better than the usual packaged cookie dough!  Like any good momma I baked his cookies for him to put a beautiful smile on that little face! 

What are some “B’s” that have been in your day today?  What other letters did you encounter today?

Have you made any good finds recently during your shopping adventures?

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, lunch, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Breakfasts, butters, and bowls

  1. OK if you went to a store in Hammond I HAVE to know the name of it, I am literally 15 minutes from there!!! We must live really close to one another!

  2. Oh, I so need to make my own coconut butter. It is delicious but just so darn expensive! I’m going to make my own…one of these days.

Leave a Reply

