Pancakes & Pasta

My Friday was like a Monday…what!?  I returned back to work today after being out all week.  Crazy right?  The mom-n-law was home today so she kept the boys for me to go in to school and attempt to catch up on some of my work.  Of course that is not going to happen in a day’s time.  But hey, at least I have the weekend to look forward to 🙂

The hubster will be home from now on, deer season is officially over for him.  I am sure he is saddened by this, um…not really – that only means that “fishing season” is starting.  You see he is such the outdoorsman.  He is the president of a local bass fishing club, and their first tournament is tomorrow.  At least he will be home at night now, and hey we have the potential for winning some money!!

So in celebration of the hubster being home on weekends, I decided to take the time this morning to make myself a much anticipated breakfast 🙂

I spent the majority of the past few days dreaming about this mornings breakfast.  As mentioned in my previous post, I stumbled upon a little jewel of a store that had some food “gems” available for purchase the other day.  Since making that little trip I have been dreaming of this breakfast.

blog photos 508

Coconut Griddle Cakes

  • 2T coconut flour
  • 2T flaxseed
  • 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • several drops of vanilla stevia
  • 1 whole egg
  • 2 egg whites
  1. Preheat a griddle or pan on medium-low heat.
  2. Place the eggs in a blender and blend for around 30 seconds.  Add the remaining ingredients and blend for an additional 30 seconds.  Allow the mixture to sit for 5 minutes in order to thicken.
  3. Spray the griddle or pan with non-stick spray, or you can use oil/butter if you choose.  Cook griddle cakes until nice and brown.

My pancakes were smeared with pecan butter (every pancake needs some butta), then topped with grilled banana slices, and drizzled with coconut butter & maple syrup.

blog photos 509

blog photos 510

Now I must give credit where credit is due.  I first saw the recipe for these pancakes on Ashley’s blog, the edible perspective.  I make a version of these with ground almonds, so I knew they would be yummy.  When I found the coconut flour in the store it had to go in my bag!  According to Ashley this recipe gave her three pancakes.  I was able to get around six smaller pancakes, which makes me a happy camper since it looks like I get to eat more 🙂

blog photos 512

I’ve had a cute little butternut squash sitting on my counter for about a week now just staring at me sitting there.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it at first.  Part of me wanted to do a soup, I am not so sure the huster would be keen on that.  The other side of me was screaming to roast that baby!  So roast it I did.  Which then turned into one of my all time favorite recipes when I remembered that I had this:

 blog photos 511

Which then turned into this!

blog photos 513

Roasted Butternut Squash & Goat Cheese Pasta

Ingredients

  • Cooking spray
  • 1 (2-pound) butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into 3/4-inch cubes
  • 1 onion, diced 
  • Olive oil, for drizzling
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 pound penne pasta
  • 1 cup (8 ounces) goat cheese, crumbled
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped walnuts, toasted (see Cook’s Note)
  • 1 packed cup chopped fresh basil leaves
  • 1/3 cup finely grated Parmesan
  1. Put an oven rack in the upper third of the oven. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

  2. Spray a baking sheet liberally with cooking spray. Set aside.
  3. Mix the squash and onion together and arrange in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Bake until the vegetables are golden and cooked through. Remove from the oven and set aside to cool slightly.
  4. While the squash mixture is cooling, cook the pasta.  Drain and reserve about 2 cups of the pasta water. Put the pasta, goat cheese and 1 cup of pasta water in a large serving bowl. Toss until the cheese has melted and forms a creamy sauce. Add the squash and onion mixture, the walnuts and the basil. Toss well and season with salt and pepper, to taste. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese before serving.

Cook’s Note:  To toast the walnuts, arrange them in a single layer on a baking sheet. Bake in a preheated 350 degree F oven until lightly toasted, about 6 to 8 minutes Cool completely before using.

blog photos 516

Thanks to Giada De Laurentiis for sharing this recipe on the food network (my favorite channel).  I tell you that woman knows how to cook!

Now for those of you that may find yourself with a large squash that leaves you with lots of leftover roasted pieces, have no fear.  Let me share with you my favorite way to use that leftover squash mixture.  Take out about 1/2 cup of brown rice and cook according to package directions.  I use the success boil in a bag rice which is the perfect amount.  Once the rice is cooked mix together with the squash mixture and enjoy.  The oil, salt, and pepper on the squash is enough seasoning to turn this into a totally different and delish meal 🙂

blog photos 515

We had a lovely side salad of spinach, tomato, carrot, cucumber, and olives with spinach-artichoke hummus dressing.  Oh and I had a glass of vino just because it is Friday night after a crazy week– Reisling 🙂

blog photos 514

  • 2T spinach-artichoke hummus (or any hummus you prefer)
  • 1T olive oil
  • 1 T red wine vinegar
  • squirt lemon juice

Mix all ingredients together and pour onto salad.

Now of course no Friday night dinner would be complete without a dessert, right?

blog photos 517

Honeydew-Lemon Granita

  • 1c frozen honey dew melon chunks
  • 1/4 c yogurt
  • tiny (I do mean tiny) splash lemon extract
  • 6-7 drops liquid stevia

Place all ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth.  Place in a dish and put into the freezer until ready to serve.

I am thinking that I may have to drizzle a little coconut  butter on top of this lovely little dessert 🙂 

I hope everyone’s Friday went well today.  I know mine was much better than several of the days I have had to endure this past week.  The weekend is upon us, which means some family time, possibly a date night with the hubster, and some baking 🙂

How will you be spending your weekend?

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DESSERT, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Pancakes & Pasta

  1. Ashley

    All your food looks super yummy today!!!

  2. That pasta is pretty much a mixture of all my favorite things! Thanks for the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

