PB&J Oats Parfait

Good morning my fellow foodies!  I must say it is a good morning indeed, except for the wake up call at 6 a.m.  Someone doesn’t understand the concept of wait til the sun comes up 😦

I was able to convince Kohl to lounge around until about 7 – then he insisted on getting up, doesn’t he understand that waking me up in the middle of the night with a temp of 102.8 means I need to sleep a little longer this morn?  Not sure what is going on with this kiddo.  I thought he was getting much better!

blog photos 522

Yes, he is waiting for the coffee to brew.  So much like his momma.  Before you start wagging your finger at me be assured that he gets a little coffee with his milk, and I DID NOT start this habit!

blog photos 521

Breakfast was delish this morn.  Those steel cuts were calling my name – along with some other super yummy ingredients! 

blog photos 518

PB&J Oats Parfait

  • 1 small banana, sliced
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • dash of salt
  • dash of cinnamon (or as much as you like 🙂 )
  • 3T cottage cheese
  • 1/3c quick steel cut oats
  • 2T flaxseed
  • vanilla extract

Prepare the oats as directed on the package, be sure to whisk through out cooking in order to whip the banana into the oats.  Now for the fun part!  Grab a mason jar and go to layering.  I layered my oats with PB&J.  The jelly was a mixture of blueberries mixed with 1T of crofter’s jam. 

blog photos 520blog photos 519

I have a layer of oats, layer of jelly, layer of oats, layer of crunchy peanut butter, layer of oats, topped with coconut butter and pecan pieces….delish!  And pretty darn cute if I say so myself 🙂

I am planning a visit to my brother’s house for tomorrow, and I am packing lunch with me.  He had a big surgery a few weeks ago on his leg due to an old accident.  To make a long story short, this is his third surgery from his accident two years ago.  The surgery required a bone graph, lots of hardware, etc.  So I am going to visit and taking lunch for them. 

This means I will be back later with a few recipe!!  Getting some much needed work done on the web today with the blog/facebook page.  Be back later 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

6 responses to “PB&J Oats Parfait

  1. I love “beefing up” my oats with cottage cheese! Your oat parfait looks beautiful! Great pics! And I love the background on your blog!

  2. he drinks coffee…omg that picture says it all! cute!

    my dad started drinking coffee as a boy, too. he tells me stories about having coffee and then going out to work on the family farm he grew up on!

  3. I have never tried cottage cheese..maybe I should for an easy protein source? We love coffee milk too 🙂

Leave a Reply

