Gumbo Ya-Ya

When will my body figure out that it is allowed to sleep past 6 a.m. on weekends?  I can’t blame the kiddos this morning, oh no it was all me.  For some unknown reason my internal alarm goes off between 6-6:30 every morn.

I was okay with this!  Why would I be okay with waking up so early on a Sunday?  So I can have this –

blog photos 524

Yep, homemade English muffins 🙂  When I first saw the recipe for this I knew I had to try it.  This recipe is adapted from a recipe I saw a while back on Chelsea’s blog.  I changed the flour to whole wheat.

    • 1.5 cups whole wheat flour
    • 1/2 tsp. salt
    • 1T active yeast
    • 1T turbinado sugar
    • 1t olive oil
    • 1.25 cups plus 1 T hot water (about 110)

     

    Directions: Place all dry ingredients (including yeast) into a large mixing bowl. Mix all ingredients well.  Add in the water and olive oil,  and whisk until combined.  Spray a baking sheet and English muffin rings with non-stick spray.  Place 1/4c of the batter into six English muffin rings.  Place in a warm place to rise for 30 minutes.  Bake at 375 for about 15 minutes.

    blog photos 526

    Now I took one of my lovely muffins, popped it into the toaster, split it in two, smeared both sides with yogurt cheese, and tucked a perfectly fried egg in between the halves.  I also enjoyed a nice yogurt and fruit parfait on the side.

    blog photos 527blog photos 528

    In the parfait:  plain yogurt sweetened with NuNaturals vanilla stevia drops, layered with banana, kiwi, and granola.  I love the NuNaturals stevia products.  I have used the packets, vanilla drops, and clear liquid drops so far.  I have loved all of them, they really do not have a bitter after taste.  I highly recommend this product to anyone that would like a sweetener.  I haven’t tried my baking blend yet, but I promise that is coming soon. 

    blog photos 523

    I may have also enjoyed one of these today!  I was really excited to make this with the stevia drops.  I love hot chocolate but usually avoid it because of the sugar and such.  This was a great cup without all of the unhealthy junk in commercial brands.  I must admit that I always enjoy a cup of godiva around the holidays but only one.  Of course since it is the weekend, I have had sick babies all week, and the weather is crappy, I threw in some mini-marshmallows 🙂

  • 1c almond milk
  • 1/8 cup cocoa powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 2T maple syrup (or honey, stevia, turbinado sugar)
  • marshmallows

Combine the ingredients in a small saucepan and whisk until mixed well.  Heat to a slight simmer and pour into a mug.  Top with marshmallows, whipped cream, or chocolate shavings.

I ventured out to my brother’s house today to pay him a little visit.  He had surgery on his leg a couple of weeks ago so big sis had to go check on things.  Of course being the best sister in the world, I made him lunch 🙂

Gumbo Ya-Ya (of just Gumbo..lol!)  You can find the recipe for the gumbo here. 

    P1000430

    I also enjoyed one of these

    blog photos 529  

  • 3/4c whole wheat flour
  • 1/3c cocoa powder
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1c applesauce
  • 1/2c turbinado sugar
  • 1/2c peanut butter
  • 1t vanilla extract
  • 1/2c chocolate chips

Mix the first five ingredients together in a medium bowl.  Place the remaining ingredients in a smaller bowl, mix together,  and add to the dry ingredients.  Stir until well combined.  Spray an 8×8  baking dish with non-stick spray or line with parchment paper.  Pour the batter into the pan, the batter will be thick.  Spread evenly and bake in the oven at 350 for about 20 minutes.

    While watching these

    blog photos 530blog photos 531

    blog photos 532

    I’m thinking she can out do me in downward dog!

    blog photos 533 

    Watch out we have a spoon licker.  Looks like he has a bright future hanging out in the kitchen with Titi 🙂

The girls would be my lovely niece and my sister, yes I have a 10-year-old sister!  Of course that handsome little guy above is my nephew.  My step-niece unfortunately wasn’t at home today.  I had a nice time visiting with my family, my parents and youngest brother came over as well.  We enjoyed our lunch and the kids.  I have to admit I was missing my own little family.  You see the hubster woke up this morning sick, and Kohl now has the pink eye 😦

I do however get out of cooking tonight.  I am thinking that oats are in order, I so missed them this morn 🙂 

2 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, Fruit, lunch, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Gumbo Ya-Ya

  1. The muffins and gumbo look fabulous!

  2. Pingback: Cupcakes & Stoup | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

