Monday morning greens

Good evening my wonderful friends, how was your manic Monday?  Mine, just as manic as ever.  Lots of work to catch up on from missing last week with the boys.  Guess what?  Now the hubster has the flu!

So not only do I have to deal with the boys solo, I now have to take care of the big baby in the family.  Before I get started on my fabulous manic day today, let me take you back to last night…..

 blog photos 534

Luscious oatmeal 🙂

I didn’t have to cook since the hubster has no appetite but a girl’s gotta eat!  I made my infamous strawberries and cream oatmeal, since I just happened to have some strawberries lying around 🙂 

  • 1/2c almond milk
  • 1/2c water
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 3T of cottage cheese
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1/3c oats
  • 2T flaxseed
  • splash of coconut extract
  • sliced strawberries

Cook the oats until nice and creamy, add in the sliced strawberries, and top with more strawberries, coconut butter, pecan butter, coconut flakes & chocolate chips 🙂

Now this was a great dinner!

I carried over my lovely meal of oats into this mornings breakfast of course, but I must admit that I did add a little twist to them.

 blog photos 535

I came across the concept of “Green Monster” oats while reading Kiss My Broccoli yesterday.  Isn’t it such an amazing idea!  I knew right away I had to try it.  So I mixed up a green monster last night with banana, vanilla protein, almond milk, maple syrup, and spinach.  Put them into the blender and blended away.  I used the smoothie to mix in with some oats and placed in the fridge the same as making overnight oats.

blog photos 536

This morning I popped the bowl into the microwave for about 3 minutes to heat then topped with a little more almond milk, strawberries, and coconut flakes.  It was a nice change to my usual oats.  Not to mention points for the spinach, with all the sickness in my house I need all the vitamins and nutrients I can get!

I also used spinach in my lunch today.  I made a tuna wrap with some broccoli on the side.  Sorry no pic, I was rushing since I have so much to catch up on today.

 blog photos 537blog photos 539

For snack I made some of Avery’s 3 minute microwave oatmeal snack bars.  It was delish.  Reminds me that I need to make my snack bars more often.  I have gotten out of that habit for several months now, time to start up again 🙂 

It was a great “pick me up” for this afternoon before heading home and hitting the gym.  I enjoyed some yogurt and strawberries with it.

Knowing that today would be manic, the hubster is sick, and all the household responsibilities falling on me today I knew I needed a quick dinner.  I started on this last night…

blog photos 540

Crockpot Spaghetti Sauce

  • 1lb. ground venison, browned
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 large can of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 small can of tomato sauce
  • 1T Italian seasoning
  • 1t black pepper
  • 2T maple syrup

I browned the ground meat last night with the onion & garlic.  This morning I threw placed all of the ingredients into the Crockpot, gave it a good stir, then set it on low to “cook” while I was working today.

When I came home this evening from the gym all I had left was to make some whole wheat pasta with a side salad and dinner is served.

 blog photos 541

The salad was made with spinach, bell pepper, celery, cucumber, tomatoes, and sliced strawberries topped with honey balsamic dressing 🙂

blog photos 542

Of course no pasta dish would be complete without some bread! 

Tuscan Muffins

  • 1c whole wheat flour
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1T garlic powder
  • 1T Italian herbs
  • 1t fennel seeds
  • 1T olive oil
  • 2T greek yogurt
  • 1c skim milk

Preheat oven to 350.  Mix all ingredients together to form the batter.  Spray a muffin tin with non-stick spray and fill 2/3 of the way.  Bake the muffins for 25 minutes until golden brown, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

blog photos 543

This muffin is garlicky, if you are not a fan of garlic you may omit or decrease!

So there you have it, my “green Monday”.  I wasn’t intending on eating spinach at every meal, it just happened to work out that way.  Spinach is usually my choice when it comes to salads and sammies, I prefer it to lettuces. 

What do you prefer for your choice of greens? 

2 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, CrOcKpOt, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Monday morning greens

  1. I love getting a serving of greens in the morning and those rolls look heavenly..maybe you should have me over for dinner and make those?? I mean we do live so close 😉 Hope the hubby gets better soon!

Leave a Reply

