Survey Says

I can remember sitting in my Grandmother’s living room as a little girl and watching cheesy entertaining soap operas and game shows with her.  My Grandmother loved her some soaps and game shows!  Young & The Restless anyone?

See full size image

She had her que of shows that she would watch daily while I would sit on the couch praying that afternoon would arrive so I could watch a little Kids Inc….anyone remember that one?

As much as I complained about watching those shows with her, I have to unwillingly admit that I did like them.  I would play along with the games, give my barbies names such as Nikki, Lauren, and Jill, and pretend that I was the young daughter of a billionaire control freak.

Before I get on the topic of game shows, let’s talk breakfast shall we?

 blog photos 550

blog photos 549

This morning I decided to keep it simple with a nice bowl of banana oats.  I wanted to keep it simple so the “star of the show” could get all the attention.  That lovely blob in the middle, wanna know what it is?  Keep reading…

But first back to the game show – Remember how I mentioned that I loved to would patiently watch game shows?  Well I have patiently taken part in a little survey game….Survey says –

So when I received a challenge to take part in a survey, I jumped at the chance agreed to participate.

 

  • What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?   Rolling the house
  • What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?     Rolly Polly
  • What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?   Coke – it’s all coke down south
  • What do you call gym shoes?      Tennis shoes – too bad I don’t play
  • What do you say to address a group of people?   May I have your attention please
  • What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?   Daddy long legs
  • What do you call your grandparents?   Maw-maw & Paw-paw
  • What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?   Buggy
  • What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?    Nothing – it’s raining while the sun is shining
  • What is the thing you change the TV channel with?    Remote

When Jess posted this on her blog with the plea to participate of course I had to jump right in.  I hope you get a kick out of reading my answers.

The hubster is feeling much better today, thankfully, so his appetite is back.  Being the smart wife that I am, I have leftovers in the fridge so it’s still not required that I cook a big meal.  Since he hasn’t eaten anything that I have cooked lately, he can enjoy some spaghetti for dinner.  That makes me happy 🙂

blog photos 551

For myself – I think some roasted veggies and tofu will be just fine.  The roasted veggies included broccoli and acorn squash.

blog photos 552

Sweet & Spicy Tofu

  • 1/8c honey
  • 1/8c sesame oil
  • 1T soy sauce
  • 2T apple cider vinegar
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • pinch black pepper

Cube or slice your tofu after pressing (I had the pre-cubed) and place in a bowl with the marinade.  Allow to marinate for at least 20 minutes.  Place in an oven that has been pre-heated to 375.  Bake for approximately 30 minutes, tossing occasionally.  The honey will caramelize and stick to the tofu so use foil on your pan for easy clean up.

blog photos 554

BBQ Kale Chips

  • bunch of kale, stems removed, torn into bite size pieces
  • 1T paprika
  • 1t onion powder
  • 1/2 t garlic powder
  • dash of salt & pepper to taste
  • olive oil

Drizzle the kale with a little olive oil.  Mix the seasonings together and sprinkle over the kale.  Bake in the oven on 375 for 15 minutes, or until crispy.

Now let’s get back to the “star of the show” shall we.  You see I accidentally purposely ate a light dinner tonight so I could have dessert.  What’s for dessert?

blog photos 553

Ezekial Cinnamon-Raisin toast with nut butter.  But not just any nut butter!

blog photos 544

I had this lovely package waiting for me yesterday when I came home from the gym.  I was very excited to open but not as much as Kohl!  He fully believes that all packages are his.  Little does he know that he will not eat this because it’s chunky – he hates chunky so it’s all mine 🙂

blog photos 545blog photos 546

Should I feel bad for having that attitude?

blog photos 547

Nuttzo!  I was sent a jar of Nuttzo multi-nut butter and peanut free to review.  The founder of NuttZo, actually created this nut butter after she adopted two vitamin deficient boys from the Ukraine.  Isn’t that awesome!  I couldn’t wait to sink my spoon into this jar.

blog photos 548

I am here to honestly tell you that this nut butter does not disappoint.  I loved all of the flavors and textures.  I enjoyed some in my oatmeal, on toast, and I will admit straight out of the jar on a spoon.  It makes me want to justify a reason to sit down and just eat out of the jar for all of my meals 🙂

blog photos 555

I may also have had a small piece of my refrigerator fudge 🙂

  • 1/4c coconut butter
  • 1/4c cocoa powder (or 1/8c chocolate chips melted with coconut butter)
  • 1/4c honey
  • 1/4t vanilla
  • dash of sea salt

Place the coconut butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds or until just melted.  Sift the cocoa powder, and mix the cocoa powder and honey into the coconut butter.  Add the salt and vanilla.  Make sure it is mixed well.  You can use a blender if you need to.  Place saran wrap in a square bowl and press the mixture into the bowl.  Put into the refrigerate to chill and set.  This has to be kept in the refrigerator to help maintain it’s texture, if it is left out on the counter it will soften.

Well I am off to enjoy some reading and a nice hot bath now that the hubster is feeling well enough to watch the boys.  I am glad that the family is getting back to normal now, hopefully it will stay that way for a while.  Have a great night!

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, DINNER, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Survey Says

  1. LOVE me some Y&R!!!! I wonder what characters I would find if I turned it on these days??? I don’t remember that kid show though.

    Love all your food pics by the way. One could get very hungry after hanging around here for a few minutes. Mmmmm

    xoxo
    Roxie-Girl

  2. So jealous of your nuttzo sample… that looks delicious! 🙂

    as does the tofu and the kale chips (which i’ve never tried!)… actually, all yoru food 😉

Leave a Reply

