breakfast kind of day

Did you see Oprah yesterday?  I unfortunately missed it, as I do everyday.  There has been a lot of buzz around the blogging world this morning about yesterday’s topic.  It seems that Oprah challenged her staff members to do a week long challenge on a vegan diet.  She ended up with 378 staff members step up to the challenge.  While I didn’t see the episode, I have been reading about it all day.  I am very disappointed in a couple of issues with this topic. 

First let me start by saying it is not a diet, it’s a lifestyle!  While I am not vegan, not even vegetarian, I am a clean eater.  I hate when people refer to the way I eat as a diet.  It is not a diet.  It is simply that I choose to consume healthy, natural whole foods.  Second, on the whole foods front, I was greatly disappointed to hear that their advocate went to a Whole Foods market and was picking out fake meats, fake cheeses, fake ice cream sandwiches, etc. for a family.  She was stated to be an advocate for whole foods – that is not a whole foods list!   

I am hoping to catch a few video highlights of the show on the web tonight.  I really enjoyed reading Madison’s post on this topic today.  She is a vegetarian that grew up in a family of farmer’s so she has an open outlook on the situation.  Even if I am not a vegetarian I can relate to her post, I to grew up raising animals for meat, having large gardens, having a hen house, and having grandparents that came home with fresh milk daily from the dairy they worked on.  You can check out her blog, Espresso and Cream here.

On to happier topics – Breakfast 🙂

This just happens to be my favorite meal.  I love breakfast!  So not only did I enjoy the following this morning…

blog photos 556

Bread Pudding Oats

  • 1/2c almond milk
  • 1/2c water
  • dash salt
  • 1 small mashed banana
  • 3T cottage cheese
  • 1t vanilla
  • 1/3c oats
  • 2T flaxseed
  • 1 slice Ezekial cinnamon raisin bread

Mix all ingredients into a bowl, cover,  and place in the refrigerator overnight.  In the morning add a little more milk and pop in the microwave for about 2 minutes, or until heated through.  Tear a piece of Ezekial cinnamon raisin bread into chunks and mix into the oats.  Top with your favorite toppings.

blog photos 557

I basically made overnight oats and heated them in the morning.  This has become my favorite way to fix breakfast, it saves a good bit of time for me in the mornings 🙂

With it being such a cold day I came home to this…

blog photos 559

…Immediately made myself a chai latte, enjoyed a nice hot bath, and decided to be lazy for dinner.  Hey it is perfectly ok to come home and change into your very purple & pink VS pajamas and slippers. 

blog photos 560

I decided to skip the gym and stay home with the family today.  This of course calls for a great home cooked meal for us to enjoy 🙂

blog photos 562

Breakfast for dinner!  We all love breakfast, and the hubster picked up the last of our venison yesterday, which included breakfast sausage.  Needless to say he was dying really wanting to try it.

  • southwestern omelets
  • pancakes
  • sausage
  • peach topping

blog photos 561blog photos 564

blog photos 563

I used Ellie Krieger’s recipe for whole wheat pancakes, with enough left over for breakfast in the morning!   The omelet included tomatoes, bell pepper, onion, and spinach topped with salsa.

Now that my friends is a great dinner 🙂  Happy hump day and keep warm!

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

5 responses to “breakfast kind of day

  1. I love breakfast for dinner. Good insights into the Oprah show, I couldn’t agree more! And I love those slippers!

  2. Helen –

    I’m glad you enjoyed the post! Your commitment to clean, healthful eating is inspiring and the topic of food politics is always heated. 🙂 I look forward to following along on your adventures!

    Cheers,
    Madison

  3. I used to be a vegan/vegetarian for a long time and then I realized I was eating more fake food than real food and decided to go back to eating meat and dairy. Now I am eating clean (found you via the Kitchen Table) and feel a million times better than I ever did as a vegan/vegetarian. No matter what food lifestyle you decided to follow I think it is important to eat as close to nature as possible 🙂

Leave a Reply

