Sideline views + I win the trophy

Happy Sunday my fellow bloggers!  I hope that your weekend was as lovely as mine.  I have been in such a lovely mood this weekend.  Of course having four days off of work will do that to you 🙂

This mornings eats were an old southern favorite.

blog photos 613

blog photos 612

Grits & Eggs, with real BUTTER…cuz sometimes a girl just has to have some butta!  Hello southern breakfast where have you been lately?  Oh yeah, I have been “cheating” on you with oats….sorry!

Today was a very full day for the Garner family.  I decided to take a little shopping trip this morning.  I mean a girl needs a shopping trip on a four day weekend right?  I am here to make you all jealous!  Well maybe not all but some of you will be 🙂

blog photos 614blog photos 615

I found a lovely little addition for my kitchen.  You see my house is a work in progress.  We have been living in this house for years, but grad school and two kids kinda make you put some things on the back burner if you know what I mean.  That and super expensive adult braces! 

blog photos 618

Is it not the cutest stand ever!  My Louisiana peeps will appreciate it. 

Now I did make another purchase today but saving it for a little later in the post.  Today is the super bowl but I have the trophy 🙂

We made a little visit to my the hubster’s dad/stepmoms house today.  It was a very nice visit, we need to start going by there more often.  I unfortunately do not have any pictures to share from today’s visit….I know bad blogger 😦 

Once home I immediately grabbed a little workout fuel and hit the pavement for a three mile jog/walk.  It felt nice to be outside for my jog today…come on spring!  This had to be done since my gym was closed as well the past several days due to “icy weather”.  Thank gawd for good weather today so I could get a run in.  That surely has not been the case for the past couple of days.  Once back from my run I started working on our game day fare.

blog photos 629

We decided to stay home for the game this year with just the boys.  We normally would either host the party or attend a party.  The boys are satisfied with that decision, and we have some good eats all to ourselves!

blog photos 620blog photos 623

blog photos 621blog photos 628  

  • chips & cheese dip
  • buffalo chicken dip
  • veggies
  • venison sausage
  • deviled eggs
  • white bean & chicken (turkey) chili
  • peanut butter cupcake

First up let’s talk dip.  I purchased the hubster’s favorite queso dip this morn, but what is a super bowl party without buffalo something!

blog photos 619

Buffalo Chicken Dip – Healthified

  • 1/2c yogurt cheese (see below)
  • 1/2c plain yogurt
  • 1T parsley
  • 1/4t thyme
  • 1/2t garlic powder
  • 1/4t onion powder
  • 1/2t black pepper
  • 1/4c wing sauce
  • 1 large can of chicken, you may use shredded chicken breasts as well
  • 1c shredded mozzarella

Yogurt Cheese

  • container of plain yogurt
  • cheese cloth/coffee filter
  • wire strainer
  • medium/large bowl

place cheese cloth or coffee filter inside of a wire strainer over a medium to large bowl.  Scoop the yogurt into the cloth/filter and cover with plastic wrap.  Sit in the refrigerator overnight.  The whey from the yogurt will drain into the bowl leaving you with a thick consistency.  Use in the place of cream cheese.

  1. Preheat oven to 350. 
  2. Mix the yogurt cheese & plain yogurt in an oven proof dish until smooth and creamy.
  3. Add the seasonings, wing sauce, and chicken until well combined. 
  4. Fold in the cheese and bake for 20 minutes or until hot and bubbly.

Oh my gawd, oh my gawd this was spicay!  I used the Louisiana brand wing sauce which is extremely spicy.  I will surely have to mix more yogurt into the mixture to finish it off later in the week. 

blog photos 624

Next up on the agenda was the main course.  This recipe is one of my favorites from none other than my favorite food network star – Giada De Laurentiis .  I made her White Bean & Chicken Chili – you can find the recipe here.

blog photos 631blog photos 630

A little vino does a body good 🙂

Now let’s talk trophy shall we.  As many of you know I love to spend my weekends in the kitchen.  I have an obsession a passion for cooking and baking.  I finally convinced the hubster that this is just a hobby and that my love for the kitchen has not will not replace my love for him.  After all he is very well fed and taken care of because of this passion.

So every girl that loves the kitchen needs all of the latest, coolest kitchen gadgets right?  I thought you would see things my way!  I am now the proud owner of…

blog photos 617

The Kitchenaid Mixer!  I have wanted one of these babies for so long!!  Yep I have been giving my arms a lovely workout every weekend with the wire whisk to bake all of my lovely treats.  Yes you are reading right, I said wire whisk.  Not even a hand help mixer had a home in this house.  I did have one but when it died a few months ago I refused to purchase another one.  I know, I know you need that as well.  I just knew that if I held out long enough that stand mixer would be mine!

I didn’t have the opportunity to use the mixer as of yet since the day has been so busy – I can’t wait to turn that baby on.  We will be making cupcakes tonight for Kohl’s teacher.  Her birthday was Friday.  No, I am not one of those kiss butt parent’s.  I am just very happy with my kid’s teachers and have a great appreciation for what they do!  I mean I do work in the school system with them, but a little kissing up kindness never hurt right? 

That is the run down on my lovely Sunday,  I am glad you all could share it with me!

Geaux Greenbay!! (I ❤ Flynn)

6 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DINNER, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Sideline views + I win the trophy

  1. Congrats on your Kitchenaid mixer! How exciting! 🙂

  2. LOVIN that southern breakfast! And your superbowl spread looks awesome!

  3. Pingback: My Journey | Helen, Naturally!

  4. Yay for you! I am so glad you got that mixer, I really want one too! And I love your little shelf, so cute!

  5. Pingback: Cup + Cake = | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

